Tim Russert 1950-2008

Tim Russert died today.  Our home is changed forevermore.

That may sound silly to some of you.  However, Steve and I are both news junkies.  Steve is a political freak and watches all the political shows every Sunday morning.  Tim Russert was on tv in our house several hours of the week, every week.  Since it is an election year, Tim was on more often.  He was so excited a week ago with political history.

Several months ago he moved me to tears, with his thrill in getting to see the pope and sharing that experience with the world.  I am not Catholic, but could see how important it was to him, how moved he was, how gratified and deeply inspired he was.

We will miss Tim.  We are both a little shocked at the moment.  While we are just his fans….we cared about him.  We believed him, trusted his information and integrity.  We are saddened.  He changed us in life.  His death has changed us again.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 17:00:09

    I’m so sorry Gayle. I didn’t know him but I saw that is just 58. The same age as my husband.

    Reply

  2. Diana Wilson
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 17:30:26

    I too will miss Tim Russert. I even called my husband to tell him the news. It is shocking at least. He will be missed!

    Reply

  3. Sharon Dixon
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 18:04:51

    Gayle, I too am very saddened and shocked by his death. My husband is 58 also and you know what a close call we had with his heart attack last year. So this really hit close to home. My heart breaks for his wife, son and his dad, Big Russ. Now I’m going to have to read his books.

    Reply

  4. sammi
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 19:38:07

    Amen.

    Reply

  5. SallyP
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 14:45:20

    Oh My It has been like losing a member of the family ………..We watched Tim every chance we could ….. ……..I have always been a news junkie and Tim was my favorite to watch …….
    My father was a news reporter in Detroit when I was a kid …………..The news theater was our babysitter …it was on the first floor of the radio station …………………………………..
    Tim will be missed here too

    Reply

  6. Christine Olson
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 10:40:08

    Our family is shocked and saddened as well. DH called me from work to tell me of the news. I felt like crying right there in the middle of the store.

    Tim’s upbringing reminded me so much of my own and especially of my parents (Roman Catholic and educated by nuns). His devotion to his family and faith as well as his career and the responsibility he displayed in his job, made it a joy to listen/watch him on t.v.

    I cried yesterday watching Meet the Press. My thoughts go out to the Russert family. It has been such a sad year.

    Reply

  7. Nancy
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 10:48:27

    I know what you mean. Tim spoke at my daughter’s college graduation from Randolph-Macon on May 31….. and less than two weeks later he was gone. His speech was incredible….. very poinant for the kids. He will be missed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

