A rose is a Coneflower

My “homework” for an online class.  The assignment was on shading, and a rose was suggested, as well as given as an example to copy.  I chose not to do what everyone else was doing.  Crayon on fabric.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rondabeyer
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 00:07:51

    I love your independent artistic freedom and spirit…. That is why you are so talented and special.. Love the coneflower, perfect…. Hugs

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 07:40:28

    Very nice!!

    Reply

  3. freda1951
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 08:40:01

    Beautiful Gayle.

    Reply

  4. myolivebranch
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 09:21:38

    i like it! i like it alot!

    Reply

  5. Sharon Spingler
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 11:45:53

    That’s gorgeous!!

    Reply

  6. Christine Olson
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 12:49:41

    LOL! Always thought you were a bit of a rebel. 😉

    Great looking rose…er, flower! 8)

    Reply

  7. Deb Levy
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 20:44:54

    Love the coneflower Gayle. I’m not the teacher, but your shading looks good to me. That is one thing I always struggle with.

    Reply

  8. sammi
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 17:54:35

    I know I’m supposed to comment about the “rose” … but then most of us are NOT surprised that your “rose” looks like a coneflower.

    I NEED to comment – again – about “Granny Goes to the Fair” …… oh Lordy ….. I keep going back and looking and looking …. and giggling. Is she going into your fair? She will certainly rival the goat b*lls you so love to look at!

    actually Sammi, it’s sheep nuts that are the main attraction. lol

    Reply

  9. Roberta
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 15:12:34

    Gayle, love your coneflower! I love the perspective that you have achieved, the colors you have used and of course that you have chosen to not follow the instructions literally. I’m not surprised in the least at the last one, and I am in awe of the artistic journey that you are on.

    Reply

  10. Heather P
    Aug 05, 2008 @ 09:43:26

    It’s beautiful!

    Reply

  11. carlafibers
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 00:10:38

    Terrific flower!!! I need to go do my homework…. thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

