Undecided?

I am a Democrat.  But have almost always voted a split ticket in some fashion.  So far I have been undecided.  (I could be an independent, cept then you cant vote in the primary.)

I like Obama.  But it really bugs me that he swings between educated lingo and ghetto lingo.   (petty I know, but it seems so phony.  which is it gonna be?)  I want one or the other, not both.  either way, it seems….. well…… not presidential.

And McCain is old. every day he looks older.   too old to be effective.  heck, he doesnt know or doesnt wanna tell me how many homes he has?  did he forget?  or is he avoiding the question?  either way, it seems….. well…… not presidential.

so then theres Hillary.  I dont like Hillary.  Never did.  Wasnt gonna watch her speech tonite…. but really, what else is on?

So we watched.  O M G!  This is the first time in history that I actually liked her.  That she seemed honest, straightforward and ….. even presidential.  *gasp*  Her speech was great.

Did it sway me?  Maybe.  Probably.

Big things for me:

Which one is gonna:

fix healthcare

create more jobs, keep more jobs here in the USA

improve the economy

make sure Social Security is there for my son and grandkids (hell, lets make sure it is there for ME !)

get out of Iraq and Afghanistan

hmmmmm…… maybe I shoulda voted for Hillary??

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 08:49:24

    Paris Hilton. So far her energy plan is better than anything I’ve heard out of the other candidates and her family actually knows how to balance a budget. 😉

    Reply

  2. Diana Wilson
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 11:29:25

    I voted for Hillary but I live in Michigan and it didn’t count…don’t get me started…
    I didn’t like Obama and can’t really tell you why. My husband said the “P” word but HE KNOWS better than that. I am the farthest thing from a bigot. I definitely wouldn’t vote for the old guy. For all the reasons you stated of things we need changed I think Obama will do the best job. I think he is just trying to be down to earth with the talk but I know what you mean. He is a highly educated man and should know better than to “dumb down” for anyone. I still want Hilary!
    Love your blog Gayle. It is so thoughtful.

    Reply

  3. Christine Olson
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 14:46:24

    I think Hillary is probably one of our country’s brightest and most tenacious female politicians…and that is the problem for me. She is TOO good at being a politician. (And too bad she has that albatross around her neck…Bill!)

    I think Obama was a breath of fresh air. Smart as a whip and reasonable. However, as the campaign drags on he is having to become a POLITICIAN in every ugly sense of the word. I am disappointed in it, but I’ll still vote for him.

    I think Hillary’s speech was great and strongly believe she may have earned herself a prime spot in the cabinet. That may be a place where she can be more effective anyway.

    I am always intrigued when they state that the higher the education of the voter, the more likely they are to vote for Obama but then spinsters suggest he is and appeals to the elitists? (I wonder if my school teacher father ever thought of himself as elite? hmmm)

    Oh well, I just wish we could vote tomorrow so the pundits will have something different to dissect!

    Chuckle of the week: Some Republican talk-heading spouted the importance of protecting a woman’s right to carry her child full term. HUH? I haven’t heard of any laws saying she couldn’t! Last I heard, we don’t have laws restricting family size…

    Reply

  4. Christine Olson
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 14:47:19

    Holy moly! Sorry, Gayle. I did not realize I wrote so much! My apologies…

    Reply

  5. lindasteller
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 23:44:58

    I’ve always liked Hilary. Can’t understand why she ever got such a bum wrap. I don’t like Obama, but I will vote for him. I feel that a vote for McCain will be a vote for 4 (and possibly 8) more years of the same crape we’ve had for the past 8. Am I better off now than I was when Clinton was president? Hell no! Do I believe in these wars? Hell no! Are our soldiers keeping us safe? Hell no! They’re over there believing they are doing good (and I bless each and every one of them) but all they are doing is lining Bush’s, Chaney’s and Halliburton’s pockets. This country really need to wake up. I wonder what they’ve been putting in our water for the past 8 years.

    Reply

  6. culturepress
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 17:23:28

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and opinions. Honestly, I’m not crazy about either Obama or McCain, but Obama has my vote. He is far more concerned about healthcare and getting us out of Afghanistan and Iraq than McCain is. I am also concerned about McCain’s health, and that we’d be left with Palin in charge. She’s got integrity and accountability issues, and I honestly don’t think she’s all that intelligent, and may easily be used as a puppet for who-knows-what corporate entity. In case you’re curious, I wrote my Palin thoughts here on my blog:
    http://culturepress.wordpress.com/2008/09/12/palin/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

