In my lifetime….

In my lifetime……

I have seen the sign “whites only” at the drinking fountain

Saw whites only at the front of the bus

Went to a school that was mandated to start busing to integrate

In my lifetime…..

I was inspired by Jesse Jackson’s speech at the Rainbow Coalition meeting at McCormick Place in Chicago

Was inspired by Martin Luther King

Was shocked and saddened by the assassination of John Kennedy…

…  Martin Luther King

…    Bobby Kennedy

In my lifetime…

I have heard family and acquaintances use the “n” word, even tho that word was not allowed in our house

have known many bigots and racists

have wondered when we could just all be one community

In my lifetime….

will I see a black president?

In my lifetime.

I have hope it will be so.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 21:33:23

    I hope so too….

    Reply

  2. jhwolf
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 21:51:58

    Me too!!!!

    Judy in MO

    Reply

  3. CarolK
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 23:43:46

    So do I!

    Reply

  4. Freda M Henderson
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 07:34:21

    Add me to that list.

    Reply

  5. Diana Wilson
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 09:57:42

    Things have really changed haven’t they? I was thinking the same thing. Did anyone think it was possible to have a black President? Or a woman? Times have changed. It’s all good!

    Reply

  6. Sharon Dixon
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 10:12:32

    AMEN!

    Reply

  7. Christine Olson
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 14:53:49

    Yep, me too! (Let’s hope McCain’s pandering to the disappointed Clinton supporters with his choice of truly inexperienced VP candidate doesn’t actually work. I am praying that people keep their eyes on the real ISSUES!)

    Reply

  8. lindasteller
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 01:15:24

    Oh I hope so too, Gayle. Just think, technology has changed so much — I remember listening to the radio before we finally got TV, now there are all sorts of technological marvels. Won’t it be wonderful if people’s attitudes can transform as well. I know that this country really needs a new direction. I pray Obama is the answer.

    Reply

  9. Cinda
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 17:04:10

    I fully expect to see a black president in my life time. I just hope it’s THIS year and not in the future!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

