Cheer Up

I needed something cheerful in life today.  It is day 2 or 3 of probably a full week of rain.  It’s gray and kind of ugly out.  Warm and very humid.  Not my best kind of day for allergies, ambition or attitude.

I have been trying to get some personal sewing/piecing done this week and have really struggled.  My 10 yr old workhorse of a machine is on its last legs.  It works well for half an hour or 10 minutes, then goes stupid.  I have gotten really frustrated with it.  I thought I had it working well again yesterday and last nite it went extra stupid.  As Vicki would say, it is “craptastic”.  What a fitting word.

So today I went to look at machines.  Yeah.  Just to LOOK.

Oh get over it.  I needed something cheerful.  Something functional, you know?  How can you get anything done when you fight with the damn machine?

So MO came home with me:

And for some extra cheerfulness, I slapped some borders on this panel for our new studio.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 21:35:59

    Dreary weather sucks! Good for you..Mo looks like a good fit for your new studio, as does the bordered panel…nice and cheery…and with winter coming soon…a good thing.

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 21:46:17

    There’s nothing more cheery than a new toy!!

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 21:49:09

    I really love that panel!! Glad you were able to fend off the craptastics….. I hope the new machine brings you many hours of joy. We’ve been rainy too…. but the cabana boy looking over my shoulder just said don’t get any ideas 😉

    Reply

  4. andicrafts
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 09:33:31

    What a great way to brighten up a dreary day. Hey, it’s raining here today – does that mean I need a new toy? ( Oh, wait, I GOT a new toy this week – get to play on it for the first time today.)

    Enjoy your new machine, Gayle!
    Andi

    Reply

  5. KK
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 10:04:13

    Gayle – I have a little Janome 760 that I use for classes/retreats/etc. I love it! Glad you got something to cheer you up. The panel is so very pretty – I’ve never seen that one.

    Reply

  6. AllenQuilts
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 10:10:15

    Oh yes, Mo is definitely a cheerer upper! Glad Mo decided to go home with you! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Freda M Henderson
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 14:42:27

    Mo does good work. Love the panel.

    Reply

  8. cinda
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 15:53:50

    That last photo… of those flowers… makes me think of one person. She would have loved them. And you know hanging flowers like that would’ve annoyed the hell out of the boys in the house – but she woudll have done it anyway. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

