Sunday playtime

Hurricane IKE came for a visit Sunday evening.  35-45 mph winds.  Very strange for it to be 81 degrees at 9 at nite in September.   Wind scares me.  After going thru Hurricane Hugo, I never want to go thru a hurricane again.  And wind has scared the crap out of me ever since.

Sunday was a day of scattered multi-tasking.  Quilting, embroidery, sewing, laundry, cooking, moving furniture.  All mixed up.

A few little JuJu blocks I started for a quilt.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 10:49:00

    Those blocks are way cute! Sounds like you had a very busy weekend.
    I’ve not been in a hurrican (thank you, Lord), but was on a cruise ship running to port in front of Hugo. That was scary enough for me, thankyouverymuch. Just remembering the waves washing over the third deck of that ship makes me shudder.

    Reply

  2. sammi
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 10:49:53

    *hurricane = see? don’t even know how to spell “disaster”.

    Reply

  3. Freda M Henderson
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 14:45:29

    Ike came through here Sunday morning with 60 to 70 mile an hour winds and our power was out for 34 hours. He sure did flex his muscles.

    Reply

  4. KK
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 16:57:00

    Hi, Gayle – where did you live when you went thru Hugo? I’m about 45 miles inland from Charleston, SC. Remember it well and hope to never do it again. We were without power for almost FOUR WEEKS! Luckily I didn’t sew/quilt at the time. I would have been out of my mind!!

    I lived in Charlotte and we were without power for 2 weeks. I worked at a hospital, and my office had showers, so my entire staff would come in muddy and dirty, shower, come out with their dresses and heels on! I stood at the door and handed out towels. We ate most meals at the hosp those 2 weeks, and I took some of my elderly neighbors there to shower and eat.

    While we had no structural damage to our house, our neighbors did. It took us a full year to clean up our yard from all the downed trees. It took the city much longer than that to recover. Not something I want to ever do again.

    Gayle

    Reply

  5. KK
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 16:57:55

    PS – forgot to say how cute the blocks are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

