Red Tailed Hawk

At least I think it is….

We are fascinated by it.  It likes our tree outside the back door in the past few weeks.  We hope it is eating lots of moles.  And mice.  And snakes.  EWWWW!  The more it eats, the less I have to see!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 16:36:24

    I love watching the hawks – except when they target my favorite birds!

    Reply

  2. Judy W
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 16:42:49

    Sure looks like a young red-tailed to me. COOL! Love those predator birds that keep snakes away!!!!

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 16:52:55

    Oh cool!!!!!!!! Lucky you!!

    Reply

  4. Christine Olson
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 17:10:10

    Very cool! Will he stick around as weather changes or does he migrate?

    Reply

  5. SallyP
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 22:31:54

    Yippee One of my hugh birds has moved down the road …………………….The horned owl stills lives out back ….I would like to send him over ..
    Sally The baby groundhogs are having a party tonight

    Those groundhogs are probably celebrating the disappearance of the hawk?!

    Steve would be getting his gun out for the groundhogs. Big old rodents that make big holes that cows can step in and break a leg.

    Gayle

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 02:12:13

    I wouldn’t recognize a red tail hawk if my life depended on it but I had to laugh when I read your title. My youngest son called every bird he saw flying a red tail hawk and it’s always been a big joke in our family that any bird we see flying that we don’t recognize we just call a red tail hawk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

