Double Wedding Ring

We dont get alot of Double Wedding Ring quilts in, but when we do, its fun!  This is the first top this gal has ever made.  Those that quilt will be in awe!  For those that dont quilt…… this is one of the hardest patterns to make.

Dont you love spunky gals who dont know any better?  I do!  She knew she wanted one like this, bought the kit and did it.  Not knowing it was supposed to be hard.

The truth is, DWR is NOT all that hard, as long as you pay attention to the directions and do what you are supposed to do.  If you dont pay attention, it is likely to be wadded up and thrown in a corner!  The one I made is hanging in the cabinet to be quilted.  Hmmm, maybe I need to do that soon.

So, here is the finished quilt.  I think I like it!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine Olson
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 08:51:11

    You’re right. I’m in awe! Beautiful quilt, beautiful quilting!

    Reply

  2. Diana Wilson
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 09:24:37

    Very pretty! I bet you made her day when you told her that is a beginner design and she did a great job on it. That is a kit? I love those colors!
    Love the way you quilted it.

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 09:33:20

    It’s beautiful!!! Well done, both peicing and quilting!! LOVE the new header too!

    Reply

  4. AllenQuilts
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 10:07:23

    It’s beautiful, and I love how you quilted it! I bought the templates for one a long time ago, and have always intended to make one for myself, in 30’s repros. Wonder if it will ever get done…certainly not if I don’t ever even start it…lol…

    Reply

  5. freda1951
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 13:00:56

    It is gorgeous Gayle. Both the piecing and the quilting.

    Reply

  6. michele
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 17:03:30

    Looks great, Gayle. I have a DWR in the queue for next week. Yours looks fab. Your gal did a great job piecing this baby too.

    Reply

  7. Vicki W
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 17:51:58

    It’s beautiful Gayle!

    Reply

  8. CINDA
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 19:45:28

    In general, I’m not a big fan of the pink and teal (Aunt Diana’s favorite!), but that quilt is beautiful. I like the back better than the front! I’d love a quilt like that with a white front and black back – waybe with a blue or silver thread for the quilting. Of course I could never use it because my kids and dog would get it filthy…but boy would it be nice! 🙂

    No problem Cinda,
    Just get out your checkbook. Write the check to Steve Mazon or Mazon’s Quilting. Then add LOTS of zeros after whatever number you like before you get to the decimal point.

    (Actually, this quilt is greens. Guess my photo looks more teal.)

    Love,
    Aunt Gayle

    Reply

  9. andicrafts
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 23:49:38

    That looks incredibly well pieced for a first quilt! And you did a great job quilting it. I bet she’ll be thrilled when she sees it!
    Andi

    Reply

  10. Janet
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 16:02:50

    Gayle, Love what you did on this one. Nice and clean, not over done. You have such an eye for scale. Well done Gayle : )

    Reply

  11. KK
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 05:15:26

    I can only echo all the kudos for the piecing and the quilting! Applause applause

    Reply

Leave a Reply

