UFO 1

I have been working on UFO’s (unfinished objects) in the new studio, thinking I need to finish some old things to justify starting some new ones.

I have had this particular project for a number of years.  Dont ask the number, ok?  I had one block done when I put it away.  I wonder why that was?  Oh, yeah, the block kit was missing a piece.

I hauled this out several weeks ago and started in again.  I think the block that was missing a piece was block 8.  Why would I have started with that one instead of number 1?  Well, because I dare to be different.  But this time around, I started with block 1 and marched thru in numerical order.  Until I got to block 8.  I had forgotten about that missing piece.  And almost threw the whole damn thing in the corner.  But a good friend had made this same quilt and had an extra piece to give me.  YAY Carolyn!  Thanks!

A different block had a piece of purple that was cut the wrong measurement.  I added a 1″ strip to make up the difference without much ado.

Today I started putting the whole body together, after finally finishing the blocks Tuesday.  MORE mismeasured/miscut pieces.  This quilt is making me crazy!  See where I had to add a little 1″ piece to make it work?

The picture below shows how the quilt is supposed to go together.

But I have decided to change some things around in each unit.  Here it is so far:

Maybe I can actually finish the piecing on this sometime next week.

I have lots planned this weekend and into next week.  Steve and I have decided we need some play time, so he will be doing some things he wants to do, and I will spend a couple half days sewing or quilting for myself, rather than doing things for everyone else.  We also want to get some outside fall chores done while the weather is so darn perfect.

If Steve would get my design wall up I could get going on my One Block Wonder.  I hate to even ask him though, as he is overwhelmed with siding, cows, painting, cow manure and other chores he is trying to accomplish.  The OBW will have to wait I think.

By sewing this week for myself, I hope to bond with my new machine more completely.  I have the basics down, but I still havent figured out all of its capabilities.  I know what it will do, just dont know which button to push to make it do it!  So far, I am loving this machine.  Even more than my embroidery machine…. which is saying a LOT.

Embroidery….. hmm, need to get some more Under the Sea blocks done for William’s quilt done too.

Hey, who has time to breathe or blog??? There’s quilting and sewing to do!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 22:59:15

    Deeeeelicious! Both the quilt you are working on and the Under the Sea for William. And I say it’s about time you and Steve took time for yourselves – both together and separately. Hurray for you !!

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 23:00:17

    I really like that quilt!!! Can you hang a temp design wall? Like a flannel back table cloth with some push pins to keep you in design bliss until Steve gets to the long term one?

    Glad you are having a fun time!!!! 😀

    Reply

  3. KK
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 05:17:10

    Personal time – a very good plan. Love the UFO – sorry it had so many issues but it will be beautiful – can’t wait to see how you quilt it.

    Reply

  4. Vicki W
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 07:55:18

    Yes, you deserve some time for yourself! I really like the quilt – it’s very bright and happy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

