Oat Bread

The other day it was cool and I felt like making bread.  I got out the bread machine and looked for a new recipe. It was delicious!  Good flavor, some body and texture to the bread, which we prefer.  I will make this again for sure.  I added a whole pack of yeast, and next time will measure to see if that was too much.  When it raised, it was stuck to the top of the bread machine, looking like it was overflowing.  Silly me, I opened it and kinda jabbed my finger in it.  Thus the goofy looking bread.    Remind you of the mushrooms in the previous post?  yeah, we thought so too!

Light Oat Bread

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons margarine
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

DIRECTIONS

  1. Add ingredients to bread machine pan in order recommended by your manufacturer. Use regular light setting.

(This recipe came from http://www.allrecipes.com)

I added a whole pack of yeast, and next time will measure to see if that was too much.  When it raised, it was stuck to the top of the bread machine, looking like it was overflowing.  Silly me, I opened it and kinda jabbed my finger in it.  Thus the goofy looking bread.    Remind you of the mushrooms in the previous post?  yeah, we thought so too!  If you have any bread machine recipes to share, I would love to have them!

If you have any bread machine recipes to share, I would love to have them!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 08:27:33

    I have a bread machine….. but I don’t use it that often because the 2 lb loaf size is bigger than we can eat before it starts to grow mushrooms 😉 But yes, that’s a lot of yeast…. I use that much for 5 cups flour and 1 cup oats in my two loaves…. but it still looks nice and yummy!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. freda1951
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 08:56:22

    I use my bread machine a lot but have never made the oat bread. I think I might try that. Sometimes my bread rises to the top but if you leave it alone until the cycle is finished you can cut off the uncooked part on top. Usually it is just a small area to cut, kind of gives the bread a flat top.

    Reply

  3. Christine Olson
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 10:41:48

    Yum! Will have to pull out my recipe book, I guess. I have an Italian herb bread that is quick, easy and goes really well with any homemade soup.

    I LOVE your cardinal placemats, Gayle! Is that a pattern from a book, mag, packet, online or is it a Gayle original?

    Please tell me where I can find this pattern. (My DF LOVES cardinals and since Xmas is going to have to be a lot of homemade things this year, I better get a move on. 😉 )

    Christine,
    The placemats are made from a pattern out of a Pam Bono book,
    Quilts a la Carte. There is a cardinal and a chickadee. I have 2 of each.
    I would be happy to send you my book to borrow. Email me!

    Gayle

    Reply

  4. Jean S.
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 11:57:26

    Gayle, I was perusing your site and found this post. Here’s my own recipe for a tasty healthy bread machine loaf I make all the time:

    1 1/3 C. water
    1 tsp. salt
    2 T. oil
    4 T. honey
    1 C. whole wheat flour
    2 1/4 C. unbleached white flour
    1/2 C. multi-grain (hot type) cereal. Bob’s Red Mill or whatever you have.
    1/2 C. sunflower seeds
    2 tsp. to 1T. instant yeast (experiment to see which works best for your machine.

    Mix in order for your machine. Mine puts the liquids and salt in first, then flours, grain, sunflower seeds, and finally yeast on top.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

