UFO 3: Farmer’s Daughter

I leave for a retreat Monday, wont be home till Thurs.  A quilt retreat of course!  Sewing, eating yummy food, spending terrific quality time with my friends in a modern cabin at Pymatuning State Park.  This is our annual group event, with 3 cabins full of quilters.  If you happen to drive thru the park and see some silly old ladies strolling along with their jammies on…. that would be us.

And just for this event, I finally finished my third UFO to take to sleep under.  This quilt was started 10.5 years ago.  yes.  over 10 YEARS ago.  It is the second quilt top I ever pieced.  I had no idea what a square up ruler was, nor how to use one.  The star points are all cut off, none of the seams match where they should.  The name of the quilt is Farmer’s Daughter.

When I quilted it last week, I decided to try some new things since it would make a great practice quilt.  I also decided on the no ripping rule.  Which means no ripping out was aloud.  I didnt.  I maybe should have.  But I didnt.

I still love this quilt.  Not just because it is done, but because I can see how far I have come in 10 years.  I still love the colors, the fabrics, the pattern.  All in all, its craptastic!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 16:02:14

    I love the quilt too Gayle. Have a wonderful retreat.

    Reply

  2. gina
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 16:30:30

    Have a wonderful time with lotsa giggles:)

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 18:09:20

    Congrats on the finish! Doesn’t it feel good! Enjoy your retreat!

    Reply

  4. SallyP
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 18:11:25

    Love the quilt ……………..I hope you have a great time camping ……..I will get over to see you after you get back ………………Sally

    Reply

  5. Vicki W
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 20:46:40

    Now “craptastic” is supposed to be BAD – that quilt isn’t bad at all. It’s wonderful!
    Have a great time on your retreat!

    Reply

  6. kayp
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 21:50:34

    have a grand time at your retreat! wish i was one of the old ladies is jammies wandering around. wtg on finishing another ufo.

    Reply

  7. Deb Levy
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 21:56:53

    I’ve come to realize in my old age that ‘craptastic’ actually can be quite good…at times anyway. This quilt is good…done is good and growth is good.

    Have a great time at retreat!

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 00:44:45

    I love this quilt…if I weren’t involved in doing my paper art, etc, I would be quilting. Right now, I don’t feel like I have time to do both. Happy quilting!

    Reply

  9. BeckyP
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 16:42:21

    It looks great to me!!! And done is good…”craptastic” or not!! Have fun at your retreat!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

