Voting

Did you vote today?

101_0396

Steve and I voted at 10am today.  We have never had to wait for one of the 2 booths. Today, we had to wait for 4 people ahead of us, plus the 2 people in the booths.

Our township has 427 registered voters (we asked). I was voter 106, Steve was 107 today. When we left, #120 was signing in. Most presidential elections only see about 150 votes from this township. The people working the election said they were “worn out already!” and that they “had never seen such activity!” That cracked me up…imagine what it is like in the city!

It should be like this for every election.

Oh, the dandy lion I am holding?  Two weeks ago, Steve came in with this:

100_0304

He told me it was the last boo ket of the season.  And that he loved me.

Of course the flowers had to go in my special vase.  Mom gave it to me after she found out that Steve would pick wild violets from the woods and bring them in to me.  She bought the vase at Mount Rushmore, one of the places she and I had both visited and loved.  I use this little pitcher vase often… it reminds me of her, and of how much she loved Steve.  His flower picking was just one of the reasons she loved him.

101_0328

So today, as we got in the car to go vote…… he got back out of the car, walked over to the grass and picked the dandy.  Got back in the car and said “look!  the last flower.  how fitting to have a flower to give you on this historic day.”

101_0398

I love him.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana Wilson
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 15:18:44

    Silly ole me teared up reading about Steve’s flower picking and your mom buying you that vase and it is just those sweet little things that make life so darned great. Love to see the new picture of you. MArk and I just got back from voting. We never have to wait either, I love that!

    Reply

  2. kayp
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 15:46:45

    i had to leave without voting as there were 25-30 people in line ahead of me and i had a deadline. will be interesting to see the numbers when i go back this evening.

    i love steve too (for being so good to you!)

    Reply

  3. Christine Olson
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 17:18:21

    For some silly reason, my emotions seem just beneath the surface today. I teared up reading about the flower picking. I love that Steve loves you so. You are blessed.

    Reply

  4. Sharon Dixon
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 22:48:32

    Awwww!!!! Gayle, you and Steve are just the sweetest couple.

    Reply

  5. Melly
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 22:47:50

    Makes me love Steve too! Way to go Steve! I also really like that you know how many registered voters are in your township, or at least that you asked. My husband is working with the county elections board this year and it has been interesting to watch, learn and hear the inner machinations of the process.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

