WIP Wednesday

Work in Progress Wednesday…..

these things are all in the works…….

finished this at the retreat, now need to quilt it.

101_04141

started this at retreat.  have all 7 braids done, need to finish putting them together with the spacer bars.  spacer bars are made too.

101_0416

this quilt is loaded, ready to quilt.  hmm, wonder how i will do those borders.  wonder how long i can stand on my bad foot.  half an hour?  its a big quilt.  wonder how long it will take…. half hour at a time?

101_04172

this is about half done….. spent alot of time the past few days working on it while my foot was up.  i have no idea what a prayer shawl is sposed to look like, but this is my version.  it is a pattern from the early 50’s for a shawl, and i kind of thought it looked interesting.

101_0419

and i got this in the mail today….. so i am totally distracted because i want to get right to it to see what it looks like with another pattern i have chosen.   i ordered this yarn from suzanne’s knots and bolts store…. ordered monday afternoon, it arrived today.  terrific service!  and a few little surprises in the box too.  thanks suzanne!

101_0418

now you know what i have been up to.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 17:21:17

    All beautiful stuff! Hope you’re all better soon.

    Reply

  2. freda1951
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 17:34:39

    I love them all. Gayle, is the star quilt a pattern I could buy or is it your design?

    freda,
    i know you asked this before and i forgot to answer, sorry.
    i saw a pattern like it for a small wallhanging. i dont own that pattern, but just saw one. i just kind of winged it and figured it out myself for a king size bed. i would be happy to do a tutorial of sorts….. you know, with minimum instructions… if that would help. or i could give you measurements i started with for each diamond of the star. then 2.5 (cut) strips are added to each side of that, log cabin style. let me know, i can help you out.

    gayle

    Reply

  3. Suzanne
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 17:43:32

    I hope it works for the project you have in made!

    The other giftie was from way back when I had a drawing and forgot to actually send you something. 😀

    Reply

  4. Terri
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 18:23:54

    Gayle,
    Great stuff! I just did one of those sunflower quilts a few months ago. I am trying to remember what I did in the border…

    Terri,
    Did you remember yet??? lol I have another one just like it, but in hot pinks after this one. Remembering would be good…..

    Gayle

    Reply

  5. freda1951
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 18:31:17

    A tutorial would be great Gayle. Thanks so much.

    Reply

  6. Vicki W
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 21:56:54

    You’ve been up to a lot! I love the braid quilt.

    Reply

  7. Lynn Douglass
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 23:28:33

    Both quilts are gorgeous, but I’m particularly fond of that braided one! LOVE your colors! I hope your foot heels quickly.

    Reply

  8. Diana Wilson
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 20:12:44

    I am totally in LOVE with that braid quilt! Gorgeous!
    Sorry about your foot. I absentmindedly kicked my refrigerator once and it hurt like hell then I went to bed and forgot about it until a day later my toe hurt so bad I couldn’t wear shoes or put weight on it. After the THIRD time doc x-rayed it sent me to a foot doctor and they found a tiny fracture. Amazing how much a little break can hurt in your foot. I am wishing you well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

