Kitchen Bitch and WIP Wed

My pre-thanksgiving chores started last nite.  I made potato soup using Terri’s delicious recipe.  Since I had to chop onions and celery for that, I chopped the rest for the turkey stuffing.  It is in the fridge, ready for tomorrow.

So, the day before Thanksgiving is the day I am the chief kitchen bitch! Steve takes over tomorrow and does everything else.  I am so darn thankful he loves doing it.  I would just as soon eat a burger…. but that would be breaking tradition.  Steve cant have that!

Before noon, I had done this:

100_05321

I also opened the cans of olives and cranberry sauce and put those in fancy containers….. called glad containers.  And popped them in the fridge.  Did the dishes, cleaned up the kitchen.

Worked on some quilting while this was baking:

100_0534

So tomorrow, Steve gets his turn at kitchen bitch.  I get to eat, quilt, and do the dishes.

Here are some things I have been doing in the quilt studio:

Ive been making some small gifts that I cant really show here, because the recipient might see them…..

and I have been trimming quilts to be ready to bind:

100_0538

and making the bindings…. (7 quilts total to do)

100_0537

Steve got all the curtain rods up in the studio.  And I got all the curtains up.  But then they needed tie backs, so I made them.  For 10 windows and 3 doors.

100_0539

100_0540

And its been a snowy week.  We have mostly stayed in, but yesterday we had to trek thru the crappy weather to get my feet casted for my shoe inserts.  I was so happy to come home and put my jammies on after a stressful drive.  I hope it will be good weather Friday for the annual boob smashing.  November seems to be medical month!

Steve and I wish you a happy Thanksgiving.  We have so much to be thankful for….. each other, relative good health, a warm home, food on the table, a new studio, Steve’s quilting business is fairly steady, friends and some family that we remain close to….. all good.   We wish the same for all of you.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 18:26:10

    LOL LOVE the new header 😀 And I think you should make matching aprons with that on it… Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 18:29:46

    Glad you like the soup! I have been cooking all day, too…;-)

    Reply

  3. Freda Henderson
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 19:00:23

    Everything looks great Gayle. I really like the tie backs. Lynn and I hope you and Steve have a great Thanksgiving. I’ll say “OUCH!!!!! for you Friday.

    Reply

  4. myolivebranch
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 19:16:33

    i wanna see the small stuff so don’t forget to post it after it is given! my pre-cooking will start about 7pm when i get home. after that starts the pre-cleaning. i’m kinda a procrastinator! hope you have a delicious holiday.

    Reply

  5. BeckyP
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 22:49:06

    I hope you ahd a wonderful Thanksgiving! Ours was wonderful and filled with a lot of family..something that has been missing in my life for a long time!I cooked for 2 days solid but had help cleaning it all up. I love your tie back fabric! I hope your boob smashing went OK. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

