Woodsy Wallhanging

I dont remember the correct name for this pattern…. I was told and promptly forgot.  Its just a small wallhanging, but darn cute.

100_0497

100_0499

100_0500

So, did you all go shopping today?  We did.  Can you believe it?

We had to get up early (6am) to get to my 8am mammogram appointment.  Steve decided to tag along so he could go with me to WalMart.  oh boy.  He was interested in buying his favorite jeans half off, price good till 10am.  They even had his size, which is not always the case.  When the gal rang them up, they showed as regular price.  She said that was because they were out of them.  All the sale jeans were gone.  Now the ad didnt say a particular size or style of Wranglers, just men’s Wrangler.  And we were checking out at 9:15 am.  So Steve said he didnt want them.  He was SO dang mad.  He fumed and fussed and carried on the entire way home.

Honestly….. I hate black Friday.  I have shopped on that day once ever…. about 5 years ago.  I hated every second of it and swore I would never do it again.  The rest of the store experience was fine.  I wasnt there for any deals… I was there for 2 or 3 specific small things that would finish my Christmas shopping.  And never would have gone at all except that WalMart is on the way home from the hospital.

I still have to wrap and ship everything.  And still have 3 hand made presents to finish.  Overall, I’m in good shape.  Steve hasnt started of course.  He usually goes shopping twice…. the week before Christmas.

So if you shopped, I hope it was fun for you.  Yeah Phylis, YOU.  Getting up to leave at 3:30 to hit Penney’s by 4:00am.  Uh huh.  That is so NOT my thing!

And for those of you who stayed in and sewed, read a book, quilted, did something fun…. good for YOU.  Beats having your boobs in a vice!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 19:31:14

    I worked my way through college doing retail 40 hrs a week on top of full college load. I swore I would never shop Black Friday and I haven’t. I slept in, drank coffee and had a lovely time. Finished my shopping a week ago. Now to deck the halls…..

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 20:10:42

    I haven’t started my gift shopping, but even still Irefuse to do “Black Friday” typical shopping. (did that once, btdt!) I did go into town today to the LQS to deliver 2 quilts and pick up some fabric. And stayed totally away from the end of town with all the big box stores!

    Reply

  3. Lynn Douglass
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 20:34:28

    I really like the wallhanging! As for Black Friday, I’ve yet to give it a go. Scott went once, and it was a joke! He couldn’t get anything that was on the list, and the people were absolutely crazed! He said he’d never do it again.

    Reply

  4. BeckyP
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 22:54:54

    Whitney has done the Black Friday 3 years running now. She said this year was not bad at all. I think everyone made way for her since she looks like she is in labor just walking! LOL After working retail for so many years I refuse to part of the other side of the counter….the entire season of shopping with all the grumpy people is bad enough in my opinion…I like to go when the snow is the deepest and hope that all the crazies are at home! LOL

    Reply

  5. akentuckycreation
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 23:01:35

    I iso enjoy your blog. I have it on my blog surfer. I did some shopping today at Michaels for one particular thing, of course I got some beads. I did shop online, which is the way to go. At Kohls I got free shipping and some online deals. I don’t like shopping either, but the online way is the way to go. You can even have things shipped to other addresses. Hope you will check out my blog.

    Lee
    http://www.akentuckycreation.wordpress.com

    Reply

  6. goldenneedle
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 00:03:21

    Last time I went “black friday” shopping I was 8.5 months pregnant……..never again did I go on that day. I stay home where there no traffic or people jabbing you in the side. Some things are just not worth it.

    Karen L

    Reply

  7. freda1951
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 17:19:59

    I love the wallhanging Gayle. No Black Friday here either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

