Red Delicious BOM started

I decided to try out the block of the month (BOM) quilt that  Esther is starting on her blog.  Actually, she started it last month, so if you want the first block, hurry HERE to get it.  (click on the Red Delicious apple on the left side when you get there so you can download the pattern)  She will only have the first block available for another couple days, then she will put up the 2nd block and delete the first.

Here is my version:

100_0605

She says the quilt can be done in any colors… the point is to bust some stash.  I had loads of pinks, but no background I liked.  I had enough reds to start and will need to pick up some more red scraps… maybe from some friends.   It doesnt take much.  I think I will make the background scrappy too…. with a different red/cream fabric in each or at least some of the blocks.  I know I dont have enough of this one left to do the whole thing.

I still need to stitch around the pieces.  I havent decided if I will do a blanket stitch, some other decorative stitch, or just use monofilament and a small zigzag stitch.  Decisions, decisions!

Thanks Esther, I had fun with this block, and look forward to the next ones.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SallyP
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 20:34:28

    Hi I love it makes me want to try to quilt ……
    Sally

    Sally….. we could surely arrange teaching you!
    Gayle

    Reply

  2. sammi
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 17:26:50

    Cute. cute. cute !! Luckily, I’m not too keen on red … so will stick with the other eleventy seven quilts on my to-do list!

    Oh but Sammi, it doesnt have to be red. It can even be PURPLE!
    Gayle

    Reply

  3. kim
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 16:04:55

    I am doing this too, but doing the needle turn and have done the bird’s feet over and over. Anyone have a tip how to hand applique these tiny feet. I am so frustrated.

    P.S. your block will look beautiful, I’m jealous

    Kim,
    I cant help with hand applique, because I am a total machine kind of girl! My block isnt even machine stitched yet, just fused so far. I think I will do a few blocks before I decide what color to do the stitching in. Red? black?? so many decisions!
    I bet yours is going to be pretty too.
    Thanks for stopping by,
    Gayle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

