Kettle of Nighthawks

Yesterday there was a big flock of birds that visited again.  We have seen them about every other day for the last few weeks.  Usually they are in the pasture or the front yard.  Sometimes there are so many it feels like I am in Hitchcock’s movie “The Birds”.

I finally got enough pictures that I am pretty sure that I can identify them as nighthawks of some sort.  I think Lesser Nighthawks.  When they are in a big group, it is called a kettle.  Thus, a kettle of nighthawks.  How’s that for a kettle of fish?

When they fly off they are kind of strange.  They fly in all different directions and are very erratic.  They kind of look like drunk drivers flocking to the sky all at once.  We have wondered why they dont crash into each other.  Fun to watch though.

This is just a few of them.  They were this heavily congregated, covering almost a whole acre of land.  Thats a LOT of birds.  (hmmm, lots of bird shit too I bet)

nighthawks2

They buried their heads in snow looking for bugs.  Kinda funny.

nighthawks1

nighthawks3

Today we had to get up early because the man was coming to fix the furnace.  (except it still isnt fixed….. a whole other story)  I hadnt seen sunrise in quite some time.  When I looked out to see this glory, I wondered why I dont change my sleep schedule.

dawn2

dawn1

Now, if I could just dye fabric to look like that last photo.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myolivebranch
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 05:29:40

    a kettle huh? didn’t know that. now i can relax for the whole day because i’ve already learned me somepin.

    i love sunrises.

    Reply

  2. freda1951
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 08:56:14

    I bet you are right Gayle, it would be a lot! The sunrise is gorgeous. I hope you have a wonderful holiday.

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 09:16:51

    Great photos!

    Reply

  4. sammi
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 12:47:45

    I love your photos … and your explanations. I think you discovered why Hubs gets up early enough to get a picture of sunrise every single day.

    Reply

  5. Deb Levy
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 20:48:15

    beautiful sunrise!

    Reply

  6. Jan
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 18:57:29

    They do look similar!!! I’m sending them back to you all!! LOL

    Reply

  7. erica
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 20:43:58

    these are european starlings.. not nighthawks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

