All sorts of things

I know I haven’t been blogging real often, mainly because I have been busy over the holidays.  We took some time off of our regular routine in the last few weeks and frankly, I will be glad to return to “normal”.  (whatever that is)

So here is a list of all kinds of weird things:

Feet:

I took my orthotic thingy back to have it reworked.  I dont know yet if it is better or worse.  I think part of it is better, but the thing in the arch that feels like walking on a golf ball is worse so far.  I am only on day 2 with it, so I am practicing patience.

Reading:

I have been reading alot.  I finished Wally Lamb’s book “The Hour I First Believed”.  While he is one of my favorite authors, this was not my favorite book.  I liked it, but I think it could have been 200 pages shorter.  And the ending was weak, in my opinion.

Yesterday I finished Vincent Bugliosi’s book, “Outrage” ….about the murders of Nicole Simpson and Ron Goldman.  It is about the 5 major reasons the asshole who I wont type his name got off with a double murder.  The outrage for ME is that Bugliosi lowered himself to this.  I liked Bugliosi before reading this book.  I think he is a brilliant man and prosecutor.  And good author.  I have liked his other books.  But honestly, HIS outrage only gets in the way.  He spends more than half of the space on calling people stupid, a jury with low IQ’s,  inept, inadequate, incompetent, yada yada.   Maybe it was cathartic for him to write this piece of crap, but it sure isnt to read it. It was so incredibly caustic and negative that I finally just started skimming so I could find what little bit of inormation was in it.  I wasnt put off by the facts or the information, only in his incredible hostility.  I wondered if he had let the murderer into his mind so much that he ended up having some of it rub off on him?   My friend let me borrow this book….. so the saving grace is that I didnt spend money to read his spew.  Guess you know now how much I liked it, huh?

I am still reading “Year of Wonders” by Geraldine Brooks.  I am liking this book.  It is about the plague…. very human.  Also difficult to read in parts because of the use of old english.

I have several other new books in the lineup.  Hardbound, paperback and audio…. all patiently waiting their turn.  I might have to start another one tonite.

Condolences:

To Phyllis A on the loss of her Mom.

To Shirley and Bonnie on the loss of their Mom.

To Chet on the loss of his beloved kitty “Pumpkin”.

New Year:

Happy New Year to all of you…. may you be healthy and prosperous, thus happy in 2009.

Resolutions?  Nope, dont even wanna go there.  My philosophy is more along the line of every day is a new day, I can do resolutions any day or minute.  I pretty much live hour to hour and day to day, so that philosophy works for me.

Prissy:

I dont know what is funnier…. me blogging as Prissy, or all of you readers who respond and write to Prissy.  It cracks me up.  But I really REALLY appreciate your ability and desire to play with me.  Play is important, no?

Quilting:

Kay says you have to start a new quilt on New Year’s Day to have good luck in the new year.  That so?  Does it count that I started a new one a few days ago?  Or that I am have been quilting one that I started more than a year ago?

This is what I have spent lots of time on during our holiday break:

bella1

bella2

bella3

Gosh, if you made it thru all this crap, you deserve a medal!  Or a cookie!  Or something!  I’m going for a piece of penuche.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 19:31:04

    Chocolate chip with walnuts please! LOL

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 19:46:53

    Your quilting is beautiful! Did you get Adam to come do those pebbles for you?

    No, but I have been thinking about him as I pebble. I should have had him come to do feathers and Deb come to do the SID.

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 20:01:01

    Oh Gayle! That quilt is looking spectacular! Wow!

    Reply

  4. Jami
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 20:07:45

    I can’t wait to see the finished quilt. I admired this when you made it way back when! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Deb Levy
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 20:46:02

    I’ll have a gingersnap please.

    The quilting is beautiful…the scallop design is pretty. Is that a stencil? or one of Helen Squire’s? or…

    Looking forward to seeing the finished quilt.
    Happy, healthy,prosperous and creative New Year to you both.

    Deb,
    Its a combo of designs. A little Helen, a little Judy Allen, a little Gayle.

    Reply

  6. myolivebranch
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 23:04:46

    i’ll have one each of all the cookies and as far a penuche…..bah humbug! just kidding, i’m gonna master that one this year. that can be my resolution!

    Reply

  7. wbotw39
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 14:59:31

    Gayle – The quilt is beautiful. I could only hope to someday do nice quilting like that. I’d better get praticing.
    Kristi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

