More birds

You sick of birds yet?  Not me.  I dont want a bird in my house, but I love to watch them outside.  Today we had sunshine, so I wandered around in the cold for a bit and caught these little fellers enjoying the sunshine too.

birds1

birds2

Not sure what they are…..

I finally got this one off the machine.  It needs a name.  I havent decided if I will enter it any shows.  It truly is not show worthy, but it was fun to piece and quilt and anyway.  And I still love it.  I still need to do binding and hanging sleeve.

bella11

We had a craptastic day…. I wont bore you with the details.  Just one of those days that whatever can go wrong will.  Tomorrow will be better for sure!

I did have something great happen though… I won a giveaway on Mel’s blog Bookhound.  I won Maureen McCormick’s new book Here’s the Story.  That was so generous of you Mel, thanks!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Freda Henderson
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 20:49:52

    I never get tired of your pix Gayle. That is one gorgeous quilt. I hope you do show it,

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 20:51:18

    I never tire of bird pics! Love the new quilt!

    Reply

  3. Deb Levy
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 21:01:16

    I love bird pictures…I spend a good part of my days watching the antics of our backyard birds.

    The quilt is beautiful, and for what it’s worth I think you should show it.

    Reply

  4. Jan
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 21:29:31

    Nope, not sick of birds. And your new camera is awesome! 😀 I love the quilt. I vote for show it. We are all too guilty of being too critical of our own work.

    Reply

  5. Diana Wilson
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 21:32:51

    I love that quilt! I’m glad you got it quilted and it didn’t become a UFO! I would love to make one of those “Bella Bella” quilts but it’s going to have to wait a while. Nice job on yours!

    Reply

  6. akentuckycreation
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 22:19:03

    I always enjoy looking at your quilts and wishing I have the patience to do one. My mother was a wonderful quilter. I do small projects, once in awhile. I would suggest “Kalidescope” for this quilt. It reminds me of the wonderful toys where you turn and all the pieces make wonderful designs.

    Lee

    Hey Lee, thanks for stopping by and suggesting a name. Im thinking along the lines of sand and surf and Texas…. the star in the center is like the one Texas has on the flag. But youre right, it looks alot like a kaleidoscope too.

    Gayle

    Reply

  7. kayp
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 23:39:18

    marsha marsha marsha! love the quilt! SHOW IT!

    Reply

  8. Deb Geyer
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 08:14:30

    I love seeing the birds too!!

    Reply

  9. AllenQuilts
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:40:15

    Gayle, there is a floor in a scene in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix that looks almost just like that quilt! Have you seen it? l think it is beautiful and I think you should show it. I’d really love to see it on the MQR homepage as a featured quilt….hint hint hint

    Reply

  10. ramona-quilter
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 11:16:20

    I love birds. We feed them all winter so I can enjoy the show. The quilt, well, since it is not show worthy, you should just send it to me. It reminds me of a swirling vortex. Free-Dictionary says “Vortex – A spiral motion of fluid within a limited area” I love those corners, wowy.

    Reply

  11. KK
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 13:18:58

    Gayle – your quilt is gorgeous and is definitely show worthy – so get busy and fill out some applications.

    Reply

  12. wendysquilting
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 20:51:59

    Show it Gayle! Its beautiful and very worthy of sharing.

    Reply

  13. wbotw39
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 16:37:07

    Gayle that quilt is stunning – You should definitely show it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

