Favorite food

My all time favorite food is avocados.  And 2 years ago I found a new kind of avocado.  I dont know the exact name, but they are so much better than my former favorite Hass avocados.  These are twice the size and smoother skinned.  They are lighter green, both inside and out.  They somehow taste fresher… maybe more water content and less rich?  I dont know how to explain it.

This variety is supposed to have less fat than others.  And fewer calories.  If you love avocados, try one of these.  I put an apple next to it so you could have something to compare it to for size.

100_0720

Here’s the inside.  YUM!

big-avocado1

I would show you more pictures….. but its…

gone!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 21:46:31

    Oh I love avocados…. I dream of living somewhere warm enough to have my very own bush someday. They are supposed to be really healthy for you. Yum. That looked like an awesome meal!!! You know what else is good… Ugli fruit… hard to find… but oh so good…..

    Reply

  2. gina
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 22:29:48

    My favorite too! These are on my tree out back, but I do prefer the Haas. I will send you some..think they would make it? We have an Avocado ranch about a mile from me. We are now on a first name basis.lol When I go, I get all kinds to try, but always end up loving haas the most. You like Mexican food? Ceviche?

    OMG Gina, do I love Mexican food? I used to want to live in Mexico to eat all the food, but with all the drug wars, I dont think I do. Maybe I could have a Mexican family adopt me? Or find me a nice Latino man that loves to cook? Oh! I wonder what Steve would think of that?! lol

    Gayle

    Reply

  3. Deb Levy
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 07:19:10

    Yum! That looks just like the ones off my tree in the backyard! They are actually called ‘slimcados’ Now I’m hungry for an avocado!

    Reply

  4. AllenQuilts
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 08:11:56

    I’ve never even seen that kind around here.

    Reply

  5. rondabeyer
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 11:31:40

    Looks yummy, and I have had these at Gina’s house, they are also great sliced on top of scrambled eggs for breakfast….. Love the color of these….. Now some of these with some great salsa, a margarita with you and Gina for company would be a wonderful treat for me…. Sending hugs to you and Steve….

    Particularly if it was at Gina’s house where it has to be warmer and better than here today. More snow and wind and 21 with a 6 wind chill here. Yuck!

    Reply

  6. Cinda
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 18:59:14

    I’m intrigued! i, too, love avocado. But I’ve never seen one like that. So I had to waste some time looking it up….and it doesn’t appear to be one of the 7 kinds grown in California…
    http://www.avocado.org/about/varieties
    so… where did you get it?
    and HOW, out in the middle of nowhere PA? 🙂

    Cinda….. I got it at WALMART!! Are you shocked? not alot of other places that have excellent produce around here.

    I think they are called Slimcados or green skinned avocados. Supposed to have 35% less calories, 50% less fat. They are grown in Florida.

    I love you,
    Aunt Gayle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

