Yes I QUILT

Yes, I still quilt.  NO I am not just a birdwatcher.

This beast has been on my machine for a week.  Besides the fact that it has lots of problems….. and that I have not felt great…… and that we have had no heat in the studio part of the week…… and the fact I am NOT motivated on this quilt because it has so many problems…..

I am almost done.  Maybe today I can get it off the machine and move on to something better.

This is the quilt draped across the machine before I loaded it.  As you can see, it has some issues with fullness.

barb2

All that excess fabric has to go somewhere, preferably with no puckers or pleats.  But ya know?  You can only do the best you can with what youre given.

barb1

Hmmmm……

barb3

here is just half of one of those big squares.

barb4

I’ll post photos of the finished quilt in the next day or so.

Better get to it!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana Wilson
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 10:46:06

    I can’t wait to see it. I know that you won’t even be able to tell it had issues when you are through with it. Sorry you aren’t feeling well. Me neither and I’m ready to be back to myself. Keep warm!

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 12:56:28

    Hmmmm, it looks like the bars of your quilting machine are warped. You should get that looked at! LOL!

    Oh Vicki you wise one…. Steve says it is just “an optical delusion”. I say I must have been deluded thinking I could ever make this thing square. It never will happen.
    Gayle

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 15:49:01

    You mean you can’t watch birds while you quilt?! I’m telling you… we need to install one of those bird cams at your place!! 😀 I think what you have done so far looks great!!!! Hope you feel better soon!!

    Reply

  4. KK
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 17:34:46

    Must be the season for the headahe quilts. I’ve got a huge Stars in the Garden – with a top border at least an inch shorter than the body of the quilt. Huge applique blocks – 21 inches – skinny sashing that is crooked — I see fullness inside every block – and the border just keeps getting weirder and weirder. Wanna trade?? LOL

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 18:04:35

    It’s going to be great!! And I love the bird pics.

    Reply

  6. Nancy H
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 21:01:03

    I like what you’ve done so far. 🙂

    May the force be with you!

    Reply

  7. Jackie
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 09:45:48

    It is going to look great when you quilt all the issues away.

    Reply

  8. ramona-quilter
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 16:39:20

    So tomorrow, will you post a photo of this beauty? I would love to see how you coped with the excess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

