“Uncertainty” published

In December, I was interviewed by Jake Finch, of Quilter’s Home Magazine for an article about controversial quilts.  That article is now published in the March issue.  It hit the newstands this week.

Because I renewed my subscription in December, I wont get this issue in the mail as I had thought.  I am waiting for my son and another friend to send me copies.

The REAL controversy is that JoAnn fabrics has decided to not carry this issue of the magazine.  They think it is too controversial, too risque’.  They have already heard from me.  I was polite, but honestly, I think they are making a mistake.  We spend alot of personal and business dollars there….. and it makes me rethink how much I will spend there in the future.  I can just as easily buy online.  I am not boycotting the store, just thinking I dont need to spend as much there as I normally would.  Think they care?  I seriously doubt it.

Anyway, if you want to read more about the issues, go to Mark Lipinski’s blog to read what he has to say.

What I have to say is I am SO FRICKEN PROUD to be in the company of these other artists.    I am beyond excited….. and I havent even read the article!

Here are the other artists and links to their work:

God of Our Silent Tears and Southern Heritage/Southern Shame by Gwendolyn Magee

I Remain by Randall Cook

Jesus Get Your Gun by Shawn Quinlin

Helping Hand by Mary Beth Bellah

The L Word by Diane Johns  (I couldnt find a link for this one, sorry)

And even though most of you have seen it before, here is my quilt, “Uncertainty”, along with the artist’s statement that helps explain it.

The Yoni Quilt Challenge was a challenge for QuiltArt list members.
For those that dont know, Yoni is a Hindu word for vagina.

Now for those that know me well….. well, let’s just say they were shocked that I would consider participating in this challenge. My sister asked “well, why not your ELBOW??” which is the same thing everyone pretty much wanted to know. The true challenge for me was the subject, initially. Once I got past that, it was easy. Maybe it was timing…. as my Mom died in August of last year. So, here is what I did.

Artist Statement for “Uncertainty”:
Dimensions: 19” wide X 20” high

Uncertainty

Uncertainty about
Finances
Jobs
Decisions
Relationships
Loves
Life

Uncertainty makes me want to crawl in a hole.
Crawl back to my Mother’s arms.
Crawl back inside her Yoni.
Mother’s love is the one constant in life.

Uncertainty about
Finances
Jobs
Decisions
Relationships
Loves
Life

My Mother is gone.
Uncertainty is the one constant in life.

GAM 12-7-06

Materials and Techniques Used: commercial fabrics, Quilter’s Dream batting, Aleene’s Tacky Glue, Prismacolor watercolor pencils, Liquitex fabric medium, PermaCore and MaxiLok threads. Raw edge appliqué, watercolor drawing on fabric, machine quilting on Gammill Classic.

uncertainty1

uncertainty2

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SallyP
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 23:45:28

    That is so great ..I am so excited for you …I must see if I can find a mag down here Sally

    Reply

  2. Diana Wilson
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 00:04:25

    I am so proud of you! I remember this quilt well. I really remember the words you wrote with it. You are right to be so happy. Your name in lights with the big names. Atta girl!

    Reply

  3. Sharon Dixon
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 09:15:37

    Congratulations Gayle! I just subscribed to Quilter’s Home this week, so I know I won’t receive a subscription copy of this magazine. I’m going to have to go to Sam’s to get a copy. Way to go!

    Reply

  4. AllenQuilts
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 14:05:00

    I’m so tickled for you, Gayle!

    Reply

  5. Lynn Douglass
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 15:58:20

    This is so awesome, Gayle! I remember when you talked to me about your ideas for this quilt. I thought the end result was brilliant! I can’t wait to see the magazine!

    Reply

  6. BeckyP
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 18:31:45

    Ah..I remember this one and I loved it then as much as now! Way to go and I agree with your position on JoAnnes!! I just hate sensoring…congratulations on being honored in this way!!

    Reply

  7. carlafibers
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 22:45:25

    I am so proud of you!! Hold your head up high and pffft pffft to JoAnns. I will most certainly be buying this issue.

    Reply

  8. Gloria
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 17:42:48

    Gayle
    I came accross this blog addy on one of the groups
    do you remember me? we used to write back an forth. I kind of helped push you toward machine embroidery.
    I still think of you often and miss our Cyber visits
    keep in touck
    Gloria

    Of course I do! And so glad to have you get in touch.
    Gayle

    Reply

  9. kameleonquilt
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 19:16:34

    I remember reading about this controversy online, but have not seen the magazine or any of the quilts till I came across your blog.
    Thanks for posting, – your quilt is so beautiful and really evokes the feelings you are describing.

    Eldrid

    Thanks!
    GM

    Reply

  10. Laurie in Maine
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 06:48:09

    I thought at first the message (Shelley the Republican) next to your link for “jesus get your gun” was an artist statement. Confused me after reading the Quilter’s Home article because the quilt seemed inspired by something seen at an NRA meeting – and filmed by Shawn Quinlan, quilter. Not an actual member who believed some of the crap they put out. Had to google his name to find out more. Maybe that section needs a 2nd link to the actual quilter. Or maybe I’m the only one that misread it?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

