Dove on steroids?

Steve and I dont think that bird in the previous post is a dove.  Not a pigeon either.  Looks like one, but honest….. it’s at least twice the size of a normal mourning dove.  We have lots of mourning doves.  They live in our Blue Spruce tree.  We see them and hear them daily.

The bird we saw the other day is a touch smaller than a full grown red tail or sharp shinned hawk.

So….. any more guesses as to what it is?  A dove on steroids?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 16:32:44

    I think its a dove Gayle:) we have em pretty big here too. The head is a dead giveaway. Im still snooping, but so far, my bet is Dove:)

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 16:50:53

    Have you been to “what bird.com”? It has a search engine that allows you to put in all sorts of variables to wing shape, size, color, area…..you might try there.

    But still, I’m thinking if we have adults in my family that range from 4’11” to over 6′ tall, why can’t birds have a similar variance on occasion? okay, okay, I know, but that’s how my mind works! lol

    I have been there Judy. In fact, I use their toolbar!

    Reply

  3. Judy
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 18:08:34

    LOL I just found them today when I was trying to find if it could be something other than a dove!!! LOL

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 21:39:05

    Just by the belly markings, it’s some kind of juvenile hawk but not sure which one.

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 21:42:02

    Reply

  6. Gretchen
    Feb 28, 2009 @ 15:06:28

    Mutant Ninja Dove ?

    Reply

  7. Carmi
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 09:23:59

    Gayle, did you ever find out what this bird was?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

