Washington Post…. Uncertainty

My quilt, Uncertainty, was mentioned in the Washington Post today.

The article is about the controversy with Mark Lipinsiki’s Quilter’s Home Magazine and JoAnn’s Fabric not carrying the latest issue with shocking quilts.

Anyway, if you are interested, the article is here:

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 10:13:34

    I recognized the reference to your quilt, just wished they had NAMED you.

    My favorite part of the article was the very last line, abut how the magazine should be more environmentally friendly.

    Reply

  2. Sharon Dixon
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 10:16:31

    I agree with Suzanne. It would have been nice if they had named you. And I laughed as well about the last line. Hurray for quilters for being open-minded and concerned about the environment.

    Reply

  3. Gretchen
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 10:32:26

    Another item for the scrapbook, but I was disappointed they did not give you credit. Cool nonetheless.

    Reply

  4. Diana Wilson
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 10:48:22

    Like we NEED Joann’s to tell us what we can and cannot read. What are they, our MOTHER?

    Seriously, cool that your quilt was mentioned!

    Reply

  5. gina
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 11:39:36

    I’d write in a wage war for not mentioning you in the controversary!!!

    Reply

  6. TK42ONE
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 11:43:21

    You know, twenty years ago, I don’t think I ever would have seen this coming. My own mother playing a part in “controversial” quilts. Hell, I don’t think I wold have seen this coming 5 years ago.

    Isn’t it interesting…. the perceptions we have of our parents….. vs. the perceptions our children have of us……. vs. the perceptions of self…… vs. the perceptions of others in our lives. Will the real Gayle please stand up?!

    Reply

  7. sammi
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 18:15:39

    All aspects of her, please!

    Reply

  8. Bethany
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 11:49:02

    Love the last line about plastic bags.

    It’s too bad the article didn’t mention your name but it’s cool your quilt was talked about.

    I found your blog by accident while doing some blog searching by google. I had no clue your quilt was in the magazine until I linked above over to the entry. It’s nice to meet you.

    Reply

  9. BeckyP
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 15:25:31

    I loved the article but like the others I wish your name had been given too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

