What I’m working on

I don’t know the name of this quilt pattern, only that the fabric is by Paula Nadelstern.  This is a custom quilt job.  Difficult to see the quilting…. the fabric is busy.  Have to stay off certain areas where the client will be adding beads.  Trickier than the standard fare in our shop.

In progress…..

sandy1

sandy2

If you click on the photo to enlarge it, you MAY be able to see the gold thread.  It is Reingold thread, one of my favorites for adding a touch of glitz without having to fuss with metallic thread.  I can use Superior metallics just fine, but have to change to a larger needle.  So go ahead and say it…. I’m lazy.  And I like Reingold.

When finished, I will post photos of the whole quilt.  This one is for show, and I was nervous to start.  Then Steve said “all of her quilts are for show, so what’s the difference?”  He is so right….. and that brought me to my senses.  Once I got started,  everything went well.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 19:55:51

    That’s going to be beautiful Gayle!

    Reply

  2. Ramona Quilter
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 21:36:59

    Oh, wow, I’ll be watching this one progress. I love that circles & petal work you have done so far. I love Rheingold also – it can be slippery but it is just the right amount of sparkle.

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 21:55:25

    That’s a really pretty quilt … and I like the fabric !

    Reply

  4. Rebecca
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 08:30:51

    WOW Gale! That is going to be beautiful. My I ask what the circles are that you are using?

    Rebecca,
    The circle templates are ones I bought 8 years ago from Carol Thelan. She no longer sells them. You should be able to find similar nested circles from

    http://www.longarmuniversity.com/Bookstore%20pages/circletemplates.htm

    http://www.thegadgetgirls.com/index.php?cPath=21

    http://www.kmquiltingsupply.com/Parts/default.asp

    http://columbiariverquilting.com/templates___guides.html

    That should burn up your credit card!

    Gayle

    Reply

  5. gina
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 10:40:03

    Is nice for the Inn Woman!!!
    Gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. gina
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 10:40:36

    Did I say that? LOL

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 11:04:51

    This will be entered at the Canfield Fair this year, Labor Day weekend. Beading is done and it is hanging in my living room. Gayle did a wonderful job on it as always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

