MQX Mon and Tue

Tuesday evening checking in…..

Monday’s class with Jessica Schick was great.  What a wonderful teacher.  I knew she was a fabulous artist, but that doesnt always equate to teaching abilities.  This time it did.  She was warm, helpful and oh so patient.  Many of the others had had classes with her before.  And it was an intermediate/advanced class.  I was a beginner.  OH NO!   I learned a ton about painting with dye.  I painted 2 small pieces and had a blast.  I have another class with her tomorrow.

Today, I had a wholecloth class with Irena Bluhm.  Oh my.  What a warm, generous, creative teacher.  Beautiful work, beautifully done books.  I really enjoyed this class.  I plan on either painting with dye, or coloring with colored pencils the piece I drew out in her class.

Tomorrow is my fullest class day.  I have 3 classes back to back from 8am to 6pm.

Ive taken pictures, but havent been in my room long enough to upload them to the laptop.  Not sure if that will happen here or not.  One day at a time.

Tonite was the Ice Cream Social.  Tomorrow nite is show preview and the vendors open.  I bet it will be a late nite again.

Here is what my observations are about New Hamphire:

The dirt is yellowish, sandy looking.  Dont know if it feels sandy, but it looks sandy.  Very light colored compared to Western PA.

They dont know how to make salad..

They never heard of steak salad …… at least not the kind in W PA. with steak, cheese, fries and all the other greens

Maybe more in  a day or 2…….

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myolivebranch
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 06:02:23

    have a good time and pace yourself if you can! enjoyed your report.

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 06:36:19

    Glad you are having fun! I took two of jessica’s classes last year. She’s one of my favorite instructors. Have a great week!

    Reply

  3. TK42ONE
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 07:45:14

    Steak salad is great. Although I’ve never had it with fries. Glad you made it safely and are having fun (and learning).

    Reply

  4. Kim S
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 20:13:26

    It was great to meet you!!!

    Reply

  5. Gina
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 13:02:05

    Ok, Steak salad with fries??? LOL send me a recipe for this. Wish I could have been there
    G

    Reply

  6. Margo J
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 17:24:54

    Gayle, there are lots of poor, unfortunate areas in the USA that don’t know what a steak salad is. Lucky us, we do! Can’t wait to see what you do with the new things you’ve learned.

    Reply

  7. Jami
    May 07, 2009 @ 17:09:35

    Okay, You have to explain this steak salad better…I’ve never heard of it either…
    Hope everything is okay with you, been missing your blog updates.

    Reply

  8. Gina
    May 15, 2009 @ 11:07:23

    hope u are ok. miss your blogabouts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

