Happy 4th

Would you like to go up here?

Statue

I know I wouldnt be able to go up and down that many steps, but oh boy, would I love to take the tour to the crown of the Statue of Liberty.  I just watched Susan Candioti on CNN do a tour.  Thanks to technology,  I felt like I was there.

May you all have a happy and safe 4th of July.  We are staying home, working and will throw a steak on the grill tonite.  No fireworks, unless our neighbors have some.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 13:26:49

    Oh boy! I’m sorry I missed that tour …. I would love to do it, too. Maybe they’ll repeat it later and I can “join” you!

    Happy Independence Day

    Reply

  2. Gretchen
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 14:45:32

    I went to NYC with my folks when I was 6, my Mom and my brother went to a Mets game and my Dad and I took the ferry to the Statue of Liberty. We climbed to the crown up a metal curving staircase, it was a very special day I will treasure always.
    Happy July 4th!

    Reply

  3. Kim S
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 15:58:32

    I made it up the stairs to the crown and back down in 1980, but then again I was only 19. Don’t know how far I’d make it today… On that same trip, we went to the top of the Twin Towers. I had put that trip away in my mind having the memory there but not a big moment in my life, until 911brought that day back to me very vividly. Now I cherish the memory of the experience that so many will never get to know today.

    Reply

  4. SallyP
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 11:03:39

    Ah Yes I climbed up those steps when I was in the eigth grade ….My Mom won a trip to N Y and took me …My legs hurt for a week ……..I couldn not do it today………….Sp

    Reply

Leave a Reply

