Pink Peep

One of my favorite peeps is Kay.  Even though I have never met her in person,  I communicate with her fairly often.  She is hysterically funny, and yet, down to earth.  I love her sense of humor.  And I love that we can call each other up and laugh about ourselves and each other.  Oh yeah, we are both quilters too.

Kay loves pink.  And polka dots.  And especially pink polka dots.  And pink.  All things pink.

So not long ago (gosh has it been that long ago?) Kay was talking about getting her hair “tipped”.  Yeah.  go ahead and google that.  I had to.  Really.  I am so NOT a girly girl.  So of course she got it done in pink.  No shit.  She really did.  God I love her.  She is not just spunky and cute and fun, she is brave and gutsy.  She did it.  She posted photos of it.

Here is my favorite one I snagged.  (ok, so today I finally got around to asking her if I could use it.  She said sure, as long as….. well, I wont tell you what she said I could not do with it.  I promise Kay, I won’t do that.)

me4

So, I love portrait quilts.  Always have.  When I saw this photo, I knew I wanted to do it in a quilt.  But my skills….. umm…… were kind of lacking.  I have done portraits my own way, with no instruction, no book to go by, no real knowledge.  Doing it my typical fly by the seat of my pants kind of way.  It sorta works, but I finally broke down and bought this DVD by Maria Elkins.  It was SO worth the money.  Extremely well done.

I watched the DVD once, last week.  I have been itching to do a portrait all week.

Yesterday, I sat down and went thru photos.  I made FIVE patterns for portrait quilts yesterday.  With 7 different people in them.  Wow, I impressed myself!

And today I got as far as getting the first one put together, and machine ready…. ready to quilt.  That has to wait for another day.

kay 1

I can hardly wait to do another.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 17:41:23

    totally cool Gayle! (you too Kay)

    Reply

  2. AllenQuilts
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 17:46:56

    OMG Gayle!! That is awesome! I love that pic of Kay, too. I would so do that to my hair, if it wasn’t against the rules at work. On my dark hair, I would like blue or maybe a deep crimson red. Go Kay! And go Gayle!! That totally rocks! WOW! Instead of getting punked, Kay got Pinked!

    Reply

  3. lisa
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 17:47:12

    This is so cool. I can’t wait to see your others. I off to look at the dvd. thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. Diana W
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 18:14:34

    AH, totally cool Kay looks awesome! You are so creative Gayle!

    Reply

  5. Vicki W
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 18:28:30

    Oh wow, Gayle, this is fantastic! Kay must be over the moon!

    Reply

  6. TracyeQ
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 18:28:39

    WAY cool! 5 patterns in one day? It’s that doable? Or do I have to be as creative as you are to do that? You do rock you know!

    Kay I love that picture of you! You are so cool!

    Reply

  7. ginaquilts
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 18:40:10

    I need that DVD! I bought a Portrait Quilts book (by a lady who did “Rudy” but whose name escapes me) but haven’t really taken the plunge. I need the DVD to help me!

    Gayle – yours is so creative! I am in awe and can’t wait to see it quilted!

    Reply

  8. CarolK
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 19:04:17

    That is amazing! Like so many – I love reading “kay’s” view of the world – and this is so like who I think she is – perfect!

    Reply

  9. Nancy H
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 19:10:17

    That is fabulous! What a great technique, & I love you did the pink & pink polka dots!

    Reply

  10. Lynn
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 20:04:22

    Totally cool, Gayle!

    Reply

  11. Janet
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 21:54:00

    Awesome! Your art quilts always inspire me and make me dream ….some day I’ll step out of my box and really express myself with fabric. Your such a great motivater!

    Thanks for the smile today Gayle.

    Reply

  12. Lynn Douglass
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 21:54:37

    I love Kay’s vivacious spirit too, and I was so jealous that she tipped her hair in pink! I think the portrait quilt is fabulous! I’ve been wanting to learn how to do portraits, but didn’t know where to start. I’ll follow your recommendation and get Maria’s DVD. Can’t wait to see your finished quilt!

    Reply

  13. myolivebranch
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 22:15:10

    wow. i’m speechless.

    gayle you are so talented. i’m lucky to count you among my peeps.

    Reply

  14. carie
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 23:33:22

    That is so cool Gayle! I’ve wanted to do a portrait for a long time now. I think I’ll have to get that DVD.

    Reply

  15. Lesley
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 23:53:07

    I just love it it’s fantabulous.. 🙂

    Reply

  16. TeresaL
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 16:19:22

    Gayle! Wonderful!!!!

    Reply

  17. sammi
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 23:25:57

    Awesome!

    Reply

  18. lizzyjo
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 20:21:33

    So cute! And in my favorite color to! i have been wanting to try a portrait quilt, I’ll have to check out the DVD!

    Reply

  19. Gwen Estes
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 08:30:01

    Gayle, I love it.

    Reply

  20. Maria Elkins
    Sep 15, 2009 @ 12:42:07

    Hi, Gayle! I was googling my name and came across your blog. Wow, I love the pink portrait you did of Kay! You did such a terrific job on that. I can’t wait to see all the other portraits you make. Aren’t they fun? And they’re quick enough and small enough to make great gifts. Let me know when you make more!

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Sep 16, 2009 @ 13:10:56

      Hey Maria, thanks so much for stopping by! I LOVE your DVD. I think several of my longarm friends have ordered it since I posted this. I have several more lined up to do… just need to find time!

      Reply

  21. Lesley
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 13:38:00

    Yes I ordered it after seeing Gayle’s work.

    Reply

  22. arlijohn
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 12:17:19

    Great portrait! Sounds like you and Kay are really enjoying your friendship. Maria must have really inspired you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

