REDUCE

The word I chose to focus on this year is REDUCE.  I want to reduce the clutter and crap in this house, reduce the expenses, reduce the number of unfinished projects, and maybe even reduce my weight.

So the first thing I did this morning (yeah, after drinking coffee and reading all the online stuff for an hour) was pop in my Richard Simmons CD.  OH MY GOD.  Yesterday I did 15 mins of it.  Today I did 20.  I had to stop because my hips were screaming.  Maybe by next year I can learn to do one whole song and not quit?  It is pretty funny, I cannot get any of the steps right.  But everything is jiggling, so I guess that is helpful, right?

The next thing I did was got going on the About.com 2009 NY Mystery quilt.

Kind of weird color combo, but hey, it is outside of my box, and I am REDUCING my stash.

I got frustrated because they were releasing each set of directions so slowly, so went on to finish the borders on my One Block Wonder.  It is finally ready to machine quilt.

And, I did a little bird watching today…. I know you are surprised by that.

finch…. above and below.

And then the cardinals had a party in my tree.  At one point there were 10 of them, and I was dancing in excitement!  Silly, but true.

The last 2 photos are of the same bird, but I don’t know what it is.  Hoping Vicki will tell me.

STORM WARNING:

It has snowed almost non stop for 2 days.  And we just got this bulletin:  Winter storm warning effective 6pm tonite thru 6pm Sunday.  Expected snow accumulation 8-14 additional inches.

Alrighty then.  I will just put on a different pair of jammies or sweats every day.  And send Steve out to bring in the bird feeders so I can refill them.  Because really, why should I go out there in a blizzard if he is already going out to feed cattle and shovel and bring in wood?  I am staying right inside where it is warm!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sandy
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 19:58:13

    I’m with you on the “reduce”. I have so much stuff. We gave a love seat yesterday to DD#1 …. the kids have their very own Wii room complete with love seat now. Oh we gave them a lamp too. 2 down and many to go.

    I must ask what DVD from Richard are you using?

    Happy New Year

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 20:18:43

    White Breasted Nuthatch, solid black cap means it’s a male, the female has a gray cap.

    “reduce” is a great word for 2009. I’m still working on my word, it’s in my heart and soul, but finding the actual word for it…. I’m working on it!

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 20:44:58

    Yep, it’s the adorable WB Nuthatch. I love those birds! I don’t’ have an official theme for 2010, but given my personal goals I’d say it’s “reduce through focus”. I’m finally starting to identify where I want to spend my creative time!

    Reply

  4. BeckyP
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 21:24:38

    I love that you are once again blogging!!!The pics are wonderful!!!!

    Reply

  5. Terri
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 18:02:32

    Gayle! The giant rubber band work out requires much less jiggling! I never could do aerobic type workouts…made me terribly sick…the Gaiam thingy is smooth moves and stretching. I am really liking it. Doing free weights (with girlie 3# weights) on alternate days for a short burst. Wonder if I will stick with it…

    I think I might chose “refocus” as my intention word…hmmmm.
    Hugs
    T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

