First Fiber Art

A few weeks ago I was going through boxes that I moved here to Steve’s house 10 years ago.  These were boxes full of sentimental things.

Imagine my surprise when I found my very first piece of fiber art.

Here is the whole story:

In August of 1960, my Dad died.  I was 7 years old.  In December of that year, I was wondering what I could possibly give to my Mom for a Christmas present.  I had no money and wanted to surprise her with SOMEthing!

So I rummaged around the house and found the essential items to make her a very special gift.  I found a package of Bondex Iron On patches in assorted colors (now THERE is a blast from the past… remember ironing on a patch to fix the blow out in the knees of boys pants?) and some BIG coat buttons, Mom’s pinking shears, and one of Daddy’s hankies.

Then I got busy.

On Christmas morning, I gave Mom her gift.  When she opened it, I told her “It is so you don’t forget what Daddy looked like”.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myolivebranch
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 22:36:35

    how sweet is that? and to know your destiny at 7 years old. color me impressed.

    Reply

  2. sammi
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 23:49:54

    Awesome! That is so awesome!

    Reply

  3. chet Chylinski
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 13:38:51

    A beautifully touching story Gayle…

    May 2010 be filled with all good things for you and Steve…

    Reply

  4. Sharon Dixon
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 21:25:20

    What a sweet story….and so sweet of you to do something special for your mother.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

