Taking names….

Kicking ass and taking names… isn’t that a line from some movie?  Well,  I don’t think I am really kicking ass so much, but I am indeed taking names.

I am participating in the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative effort by helping create the new exhibit “Alzheimer’s Illustrated: From Heartbreak to Hope.”

In order to do my part, I need 53 more names of people who had or have Alzheimer’s disease.  Can you help me?  Give me the name of someone directly affected , I will put it on the quilt for you.

I am adding the names of Carol Woodworth, my friend who now has 24/7 care in her home.  She is a quilting friend, one responsible for getting me involved with quilters locally.

And I will add the name of Lois Brown.  She was my brother in law’s Mom, the Grandma to my nephews Glenn and Steve.  I watched her Alzheimer’s disease progress as she went from artist and University Professor, wife and Mom and Grandma….. to child-like person who was confined to a nursing home for many years before she died.

Please tell me who you would like to honor by adding their name to a comment here.  If you prefer, you may email me directly at mazonsquiltingATcertaintyDOTnet   (replace the at and dot.) with the names instead.

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Jones
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 20:37:50

    Hi Gayle,
    My grandfather, Oscar Possehl died at age 94 and had suffered with Alzheimers for about 8 years. He spent his last two years in a care facility when my Grandmother could no longer take care of him at home. They were both amazing people.
    My other grandmother, Lydia Hanson died of what they then called hardening of the arteries, but we now know it was Alzheimers.
    I would be so honored to think their names were included on your banner.
    Mary

    Reply

  2. Cindy Wolfe
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 21:25:10

    Please include my dad on your project. His name is Richard E. Shaffer and he is living with Alzheimers. It is terrific to think he can be on your banner.

    Reply

  3. Sharon Dixon
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 23:04:10

    My aunt suffered from Alzheimer’s for 15 years before dying a couple of months ago. Her name was Peggy Adkins.

    And my mother-in-law was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s not too long before she died last year. Her name was Mary Dixon.

    Thank you for doing this project.

    Reply

  4. Michelle Wyman
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 23:38:46

    Gayle, I’d be honored to have my father’s name on your quilt. Gabriel Marx, now 84 and living in a Memory Care Unit due to Alzheimer’s.

    Also, my best friend’s father died last year after many years fighting Alzheimer’s. His name was George Gordon.

    Thank you Gayle.

    Reply

  5. BeckyP
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 00:32:06

    Gayle, You are always involved in something for charity. I admire you for that! My Grandma is suffering from Alzheimers. She has been in a care facility for over 3 years now. Her name is Alma Mae Gordon. Thank you so much for doing such a kind thing!

    Reply

  6. sammi
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 02:21:12

    Hi Gayle

    Hubs’ father suffered from Alzheimer’s for 4 years before he died in 2008. We would be honored to have his name included in your quilt … Carrol E Brown. Thank you !

    Reply

  7. Andy Lester
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 11:09:14

    Amy’s mom, Gloria Coughlin (born O’Connell), died from Alzheimer’s in 2009. She was in our spare bedroom where she’d been staying the last month of her life. We both miss her very much.

    Reply

  8. Linda Card
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 16:53:24

    Gayle, I would love to have you include my father, William Victory Gannon, in your quilt. He was 69 when he passed away from congestive heart failure brought on by emphysema.
    I first noticed the memory loss on a visit in 1986, two years before he died. My stepmother finally confessed that she had been keeping it from me. She had to hide the car keys or he would get up early, put on his chef pants and go off to the Cannery Row eatery where he had worked for several years.
    My parents were divorced when I was 5 so I did not know him growing up. When I turned 18, I went to visit and stayed for years. I finally convinced my brother to go visit him at the convalescent home. I warned him that Dad would not know him. I was astounded when Dad looked up at my brother and said “You look just like your mother”. He was completely lucid for the entire visit. I was so happy we went. He was gone 2 months later.

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 18:11:47

    Please include my mother Nadine Rogers who is 84 and suffering from alzheimers. Thank you very much for this. You are very kind.

    Reply

  10. Lin McQuiston
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 21:57:43

    Hi Gayle, if you still have room, please add my mother-in-law’s name – Grace McQuiston. She was diagnosed 11 years before she passed in 1992 at the age of 71. It was a long slow decline and very hard on my husband. It would certainly be an honor to have her name included in your project. How very kind of you to ask.

    Reply

  11. cotie campbell
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 09:10:01

    Hi Gayle,

    Here are two more names that you can add to your quilt if you need them.

    Mattie Bell Campbell (my husbands Mom)

    Lillian Russell Hunter (my Great Grandmother)

    Thanks Gayle

    cotie

    Reply

  12. jomaj
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 11:33:58

    Gayle – my mother-in-law, Maria Ciolino, lived with us through all of her Alzheimer disease, up until the last month. She was a vibrant, Sicilian immigrant who came to this country with 2 trunks and a husband she had been separated from for 4 years during World War II. (He was here in America.) Her disease was a profound experience for all of us, with high highs and very low lows. She left us with a great legacy – a better understanding of how to help our friends cope with the same disease in their families. Thank you so much for doing this project.
    Joan

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 28, 2010 @ 13:21:32

      Joan, thanks for sharing your family’s story. I understand the ups and downs. It is a wicked disease, which is why I am happy to participate in the project. I will be sure to include Maria on the banner.
      Gayle

      Reply

  13. Deb Hardman
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 03:11:29

    My grandfather James Rossell died with A.D. He ws completely lost for the last 12 years of his life, until just a few hour before he died, when he wokeup & recognized my mothe (his daughter) for the first time in many years.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 08:56:19

      Deb,
      I will add James to the banner. What a blessing that your Mom and Grandfather could spend those last moments together in a meaningful way.
      Gayle

      Reply

  14. Leslie Allen
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 13:08:29

    Hi Gayle… I followed your link from MQR and found this blog… My grandmother died of Alzheimer’s 2 years ago. I would love to have her name on this banner…. She is the one who taught me to sew 🙂 Her name is Juanita Magers.

    Leslie in WV

    Reply

  15. Amy
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 23:10:59

    What a wonderful thing you are doing. My grandmother Mildred Starr had Alzheimer’s for 8 years before she died and my husbands mother is now struggling with it also, her name is Emily Robl. This gives me goosebumps. Thank you for doing this!

    Reply

  16. Beckie
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 23:14:40

    My aunt Francis Reiter had Alzheimer and has died never knowing her son died before she did.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Feb 01, 2010 @ 07:55:05

      Beckie, thanks for sharing. I wonder if that is good or bad that she never knew? What an awful disease. I will add her name too.
      Gayle

      Reply

  17. Sharon Griffith
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 23:58:16

    Hi Gayle my Father in law died of Alztimers in 2009. He had it for 5 years and we watched as he just slipped further and further away. It is horrible. His name is Joseph Stivanelli. Maybe one day there will be a cure for this disease….

    Reply

  18. KarenK
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 00:00:40

    A very sweet woman Audrey Rolfe, she was our neighbor when we were new to Sun City AZ and she and her hubby made us feel welcome and became our good friends.

    Reply

  19. Moon
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 17:44:40

    Today, Feb. 4, is my grandmother’s 82nd birthday and she can’t even remember having a birthday. She has had this horrible disase for 10 years. Please add her name, Charlene Young, to your qult. It will be my gift to her today. Thank you

    Reply

  20. Kathy Kennedy Dennis
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 19:27:18

    Gayle, Thank you so much for asking your readers to contribute names. If you should receive more, please just make a list and forward it to me or to Ami Simms. It amazes me how close this disease is to so many people. Also, if you post again, would you refer people to the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative website, http://www.AlzQuilts.org, so that they can get even a better idea about this project?
    Again, thank you for all of the time and talent that you have offered to this project. Kathy Kennedy Dennis

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Feb 07, 2010 @ 23:08:30

      Kathy,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I am honored! I added a link to the one post where I neglected to include the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative website. Fixed! And I will gladly send any extra names.

      Gayle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

