Sometimes it doesn’t work

That beautiful fabric I bought a week ago?  I had a vision for it.  I knew exactly how I was going to use it.  I chose the fabric for a specific pattern that I had never tried.  I could see it in the store…… it was gonna be great.

So last Tuesday I cut up the fabric and started laying the pieces out on my design wall.  This was to be the center of a quilt:

OMG is it ugly!  I hate it.  Sometimes, it just does NOT work.

And all the pieces were cut.  Yep, all of the fabric.

Back to the board….. laying out the pieces in a new way.

I am MUCH happier with this layout.  I have lots of work to do to figure out the rest, but at least the center is planned.

If you have quilted for a year or more,  I bet this has happened to you.  If not, well…. either you are not adventurous enough, or you are lucky!

As for that first layout….. I have another fabric that I think will work.  I figured out why the oriental fabric wont work and what kind of print will.  I love it when I can determine the “why” of why an idea does or doesn’t work as intended, don’t you?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:36:31

    Oh no, that’s NEVER happened to me! ROFLAMO!

    Reply

  2. BeckyP
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:54:04

    I like them both!!! I do think the second one Pops more though!! Keep us posted on the progress!!!

    Reply

  3. Annie
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 17:03:36

    They don’t even look like you used the same fabric for both of them. I think the first one is pretty unique – never saw something like that and don’t think it is ugly at all. You might want to give it another try. Good luck…either way it’s a beauty.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Mar 22, 2010 @ 18:29:12

      Annie, the floral print is definitely all the same fabric. It is the Asian fabric I showed in the previous post. I cut it using a Stack n Whack method, so different stacks look alot different.

      Gayle

      Reply

  4. Tammie
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 17:56:19

    Been there, done that! But at least you figured it out. I, on the other hand, put it together and then give the darned thing away! 🙂

    Reply

  5. jomaj
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 19:40:56

    I’m another one who did all the cutting and …..well, the little pieces are still in a zip lock bag. Double wedding ring, no less. Millions of pieces. Thought I was being so efficient and clever. You, on the other hand, have a winner in both arrangements – congrats!

    Reply

  6. sammi
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 21:11:42

    Ummmmm picture my lips zipped.

    Reply

  7. RedGarnet222
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 11:40:49

    I was searching around this morning for this fabric and happened on your blog. If you are still searcing here is a site for the fruit ladies in blocks.

    elizabethsstudio.wordpress.com

    Reply

  8. Elizabeth Harry
    May 01, 2010 @ 15:01:31

    Please notify me of site updates. Love your posts.

    Reply

  9. shirley bruner
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 10:04:22

    hey Gayle….what’s happenin’? no noise here from you in while…..bums me out. i wanna hear from you…..come on…..give me somethin’

    Reply

  10. Debbe
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 13:42:29

    I would say it depends on what type of look you’re going for. The first is totally unique and unlike anything I’ve seen before whereas the second has a more “typical” look. Both groups of fabrics are beautiful in their own right so you looking for average or spectacular?
    Sometimes we don’t know how fabulous it will look until it is completely done.
    Just my thoughts.

    Reply

  11. gayle
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 19:21:47

    What an imagination–2nd idea is great

    Reply

Leave a Reply

