Another finish

Another quilt I finally finished.  This was my big winter project last year.  It took much longer than my typical winter hibernation period to put it together.  I worked on it at my sewing group for many Tuesday mornings as well as at the October Retreat.  I finally finished the top a few weeks ago.  The binding got done yesterday.  Whew!  Doubt I ever make one of these again.  I shipped it off to the recipient today.

I am counting it as a UFO finished this year too.

 

Steve brought home a new feeder and scrounged up an old feeder too.  Last spring a bear destroyed all of our bird feeders and we hadn’t hung any up yet this year.

I find it very hard to get much done when the feeders are up in the winter.  All I want to do is watch the silly birds fighting and feeding and flitting around.  They are a joy to watch.  I am “bird identity challenged” though, and have trouble deciding what I think each kind is.

Today brought a new variety to the feeder.  I have never gotten a photo of this kind before.  Anyone know what it is?

Some kind of sparrow?  (too big)

A juvenile bluebird?  (not a big enough belly…wait a few days!)

Maybe it’s a female purple finch?

Sure wish I was more knowledgeable about birds.

 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 19:54:30

    That big beak makes me think it’s a female gross beak.

    Love the quilt, lucky recipient!

    Reply

  2. Sarah Stevens
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 20:02:02

    I love that quilt! It needs to go on my list. No help with the bird ID though.
    Sarah

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 21:25:16

    Beautiful quilt! I believe that you are correct on that bird

    Reply

    • Chris
      Dec 17, 2010 @ 22:34:47

      Beautiful quilt! I can never tell the difference between a female purple finch and female house finch. Mother Nature does a good job of camoflouging them! I also love birds and have been known to sit at the kitchen table watching them at length.

      Reply

  4. AllenQuilts
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 22:55:08

    Love that quilt!

    Reply

  5. sammi
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 02:47:42

    Beautiful quilt!! And at your bird feeder … I know, I know! It’s a bird and not a squirrel! HTH

    Reply

  6. myolivebranch
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 14:37:30

    LOVE the quilt! and love that you blogged again!

    Reply

  7. sparrow1969
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 19:02:47

    What an amazing quilt…fabulous job!

    I think that Gretchen was right. It looks like a female Gross Beak.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

