Math Impaired and Design Dilemma

The most difficult part of quilting for me, is math.  Ever since I had my worst flare of MS in 1990, math is gone from my brain.   It took me 8 years to re-learn to use a calculator.  And quilting has helped me re-learn lots of math…just not enough!

So I started this Feathered Star in a class at MQX a few years ago.  (The pattern is Ronda Beyer’s Spanish Rose) I got so frustrated with the center that I came close to throwing the whole thing away.  But I loved the fabric too much.  Today I pulled it out to see if I could problem solve my way through it.

Here is the problem:

Nasty puckers.  Why you ask?  I was SURE it was because the pattern was wrong.  So I took a larger seam, trying to make it fit, which created puckers.  Why?  Because I wanted to hurry up and get on to the next part.  sigh… and it just doesn’t work.

So today I ripped out the whole center block, pressed and measured again.  Yeah.  I was wrong, not the pattern.  Because I stacked (as in Stack n Whack) the center 4 squares and used the wrong damn measurement.  Once I trimmed down the 4 smaller blocks, re-sewed it together and put the center back where it belonged, I was happy.  It is flat now and has no puckers.  Now I feel good about proceeding.

So now I have a design dilemma.  Actually, it is just a fabric choice dilemma.  The pattern calls for the print to go next, around the center star.  But I have enough to use the solid instead.  I realize you don’t have the benefit of having the pattern in front of you, but here is a photo of it: Ronda’s Spanish Rose.

 

Be sure to click on the photo below to see the whole thing.

I know exactly what I am going to do, after discussing it with my favorite design consultant.  (Steve)  But until we talked about why we liked each fabric, I didn’t know for sure which way I was going to go.

So tell me, do you have a preference?  If so, please tell me why.  I am sure there is no right or wrong choice, only personal preference.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy Whitehead
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 20:04:02

    I like the angles made by the play of the solid against that pretty floral. That really pretty floral! Did I mention that floral was pretty?

    Reply

  2. mosaicthinking
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 20:18:23

    Math impaired. I can SO identify with that. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve messed up trying to count to ten when quilting.

    Nice block BTW.

    Reply

  3. Cheryl K.
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 20:21:52

    I like your dark green. I think Ronda’s quilt works beautifully with the print in that area, but her print is dark and there’s less contrast between her print and the small triangles than you have in your feathered star.
    On the other hand, either choice would be gorgeous and I love your floral print. You probably have to use it there or elsewhere in the design, so that more of it shows!

    Reply

  4. Gretchen
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 21:05:36

    Well, I suppose ot depends on if and what the next border will be. As it is I like the floral but if you were to use the floral in a next border the dark would give you more quilting opportunities. Either way it will be lovely and you have progressed further than I have.

    Reply

  5. sammi
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 22:10:46

    I like the green and the idea of another floral border. The floral looks “smeary” (technical term) to me. And of course binding in the green to stop the eye from roaming.

    Another thought … how about changing your dotty cream block to the dark green? Then the floral would be perfect! (Oh sure, says the woman who can’t finish a quilt she’s been working on making “perfect” for two darned years …)

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Dec 18, 2010 @ 22:47:04

      You know Sammi, we have quilted more than 2000 quilts. And I have seen lots more quilts at lots of shows. I have never seen perfect. So get over it. LOL

      Reply

  6. Greg
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 22:44:34

    The dark green. It will allow the center patterns and that beautiful floral to really be stronger, with or without additional borders seen in the Rhonda’s Spanish Rose photo. But this old friend is an architect and don’t know nothing about quilting. I just think your work is beautiful and I enjoy viewing it.

    Reply

  7. Karen Langseth
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 23:12:40

    I really like the dark green, you could show off some wonderful quilting in the green, where the floral would not show the quilting as much.

    Reply

  8. Carol
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 01:14:52

    You have inspired me to dig out one I have started as well – also from Ronda’s pattern. I like the dark green – I love the contrast, but I also think you should include that gorgeous floral in one of the borders. It is going to be a beauty!

    Reply

  9. Tammie
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 08:09:41

    I am the odd one out – I think the floral is more pleasing/soothing to my eye. You won’t see the quilting on it, but to me, the dark green is harsh. JMHO! =-) Either way, it is going to be spectacular! I have that pattern (but haven’t even bought fabric!).

    Reply

  10. myolivebranch
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 13:04:31

    i’m leaning towards the floral. even tho you won’t see your fabulous quilting in it, you’ll be able to create texture there and next to your nice white fabric where your quilting will be seen, i think it will be a nice contrast. now i can’t wait to see your finished project!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

