Great Week for Bird Watching

Steve scrounged up a bird feeder from the barn the other day.  And he hung up bird balls.  (suet balls that the butcher makes at the local grocery store)  I am now set for my winter entertainment, right?

Today Steve hung another feeder.  He didn’t have a hook, so had to climb the tree to do it.

Here are some of the hundreds of birds that have entertained us this week.  Some are elusive… like the big hawk that has visited twice and flew off by the time I grabbed my camera.

The bluejays are very fast.  I have to stand at the window and wait for them to hold still for half a second.

The cardinals are fast, but they often turn and smile at the camera.

The Downy Woodpeckers are oblivious to anything at all… except eating all they can of those birdballs.

The Chickadees and Finches feed non-stop. 

I get all excited when I see a bird I have never seen before.  I only got one shot of this one, and I’m not positive of what it is.  I think it is a female Evening Grosbeak.  Anyone know for sure?

I was SO happy to see this new guy at the feeders today.  He hung around for at least 4 hours.  Pretty sure he is a Red Bellied Woodpecker.

And here he is again.

If those last few photos look frigid?  It is.  They were taken this morning when it was about 8 degrees F.  Brrrr.  I have not stepped out my door in 8 days.   Thankfully, Steve brings in the wood and the mail, and goes out to give the cattle feed and water.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andicrafts
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 23:00:34

    Great pictures, Gayle! The one you’re not sure of could be a grosbeak or a goldfinch. Grosbeak would be bigger with a very heavy bill – but can’t see that in your pic. I miss watching the birds during the day now that I don’t work at home anymore – thanks for sharing yours!

    Reply

  2. sammi
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 15:06:52

    I love seeing your birds through your eyes. Thank you, thank you!

    Reply

  3. Donna
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 18:13:54

    It is a male American gold finch. They only turn bright yellow during the mating season, which is just about all summer long. Nice pictures.
    Donna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

