Windy day

Hey, are you snowed in?  To those on the east coast, I feel your pain.  We have had 50″ of snow in December, so I really do know how you are feeling.  But really… keep it there.  We aren’t expecting much snow, but WOW, it is windy out there!  I thought the birds were going to blow away!

At least his mate had the good sense to take cover and fluff her feathers.

Everyone have a good Christmas?  Ours was wonderful.  Quiet, happy and full of surprises.

The biggest surprise was when my friend Shirley stopped Christmas night with a plate of her famous home made sugar cookies.  Let’s just say that I could NOT get them all the way to the table without swiping one!  (I am too ashamed to show you what the plate looks like now.)  I hope she shares the recipe with me, so I can use my new mixer.

I spent most of Christmas day cutting out stars:

Yesterday I started putting some together.  I sewed for 3 hours yesterday, another 8 hours today.  And only have 8 blocks to show for it.  This quilt will take some doing!

If I don’t report in for a few days, you will know I am still working on stars!  It’s going to be a wild border I think.

And if anyone else who took this class at MQX with me is looking for the easiest way to cut out the stars, let me know.  I got it down to a system!

**Remember that you can click on any image to make it bigger.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 22:01:51

    I reallly like your choice for the borders on your quilt.

    Reply

  2. sammi
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 22:12:55

    Cookies! Cookies! Oh golly I love cookies. I am just too darned lazy to make them. Now when I do make them, well, darned few get from the bowl to the cookie sheet. I love cookie dough at least as much as cookies!

    Did I see something about your new mixer being a KitchenAid?

    Reply

  3. Gretchen
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 23:39:02

    Great shots of the cardinals. Do you brave the elements or shot thought the window?
    I’m liking your feathered star progress. I might just have to move mine to the front burner. I’ll let you know if I do so you can share yor star cutting process.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Dec 27, 2010 @ 00:20:12

      I can write a quick little entry about it in the next few days, Gretchen. If I wait too long, I will forget how I did it!
      NO I don’t go out in the bitter cold wind and snow in my jammies to take bird photos! LOL I take pics right out my studio windows. And some out the soon-to-be bedroom windows. (room that was our old studio)

      Reply

  4. Gretchen
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 12:29:25

    Thanks, a blurb on your star method would be great. I pulled my center out and quickly remembered why I never finished it. It is 2″ too small! It measures 38″. But I have come up with a solution and will carry on. You have inspired me.

    I will have to try taking a few pictures through the glass. Yours are wonderful!

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Dec 27, 2010 @ 15:13:20

      Mine will be too small too. I plan on a coping strip between the stars and the middle. Waiting to see if the stars will fit it as is, or if I will need the strip.

      Reply

      • Gretchen
        Dec 27, 2010 @ 15:32:48

        I wonder if the pattern is wrong? Two inches seems like more than a seam allowance error. I’m a pretty good piecer or at least I think I am! So, I am making my half square triangle border bigger, using 16- 2 3/8″ rather than 20- 2″ and keeping fingers crossed that I figured correctly.

Leave a Reply

