Amaryllis watch

We bought a couple of amaryllis bulbs last week on sale, and I finally got them planted on January 1, 2011.  We love to watch how fast they grow.  It is a cheap, easy way to entertain ourselves on gloomy, snowy days.

Jan 1:

 

That one is looking sideways!  These were already starting to sprout in the box, before planting.  Don’t worry, it will straighten up!

Jan. 4:

 

See?  It’s like magic!

 

I had the stomach flu for a few days, and was flat.  But today I got a good jump on my little trapunto project.  It has LOTS of problems, but I still like it.

 

I haven’t decided what kind of background fill to use.  Any suggestions?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 02:29:33

    I love to watch the Amaryllis … it is so much more entertaining than watching grass grow or paint dry!

    Sweet quilt. I honestly see hearts around every empty space, so I would automatically put curved Xhatch in them. I suppose it should be straight Xhatch to offset the curves. (throwing up hands in wonder)

    Reply

  2. quiltfever
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 05:00:03

    Glad you are feeling better. Amaryllis blooms are so worth the wait!

    Reply

  3. BeckyP
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 19:52:45

    I love your little piece!! It is so pretty and soft looking. I know the “in” thing is to do crosshatching but I think that would hide all the embroidery…no ideas but my thoughts for what they are worth!! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

