Oh the birds!

How am I ever going to get any sewing, quilting, cooking or cleaning done when there are so many birds to watch???  Sure is hard for someone who is as easily entertained and distracted as I am.

It snowed part of the day, but Steve did get us plowed out.  It is the first day he wore his new “duck suit”.  His other one was completely worn out.  Santa brought him this one.

So, while I stuffed and roasted a turkey, made all the rest of dinner, did a couple loads of laundry and worked on my feathered star quilt…… I watched birds.  From EVERY window in the house.

I saw these out our bedroom window.  Oh my, they were so BUSY!

And these were out the front studio window, in the front maple tree:

This afternoon,  I stepped outside my (front) door for the first time in …… more than a week?  I forget how long…. and snapped this shot of the pretty sky behind the “tree of life”.  The birds LOVE to take cover in this beautiful Blue Spruce.

The real excitement this week has been the hawk sitings.  I saw one Monday in the tree just above the feeders in the front maple tree.  Steve has seen several hawks flying/hunting while outside doing chores.  One in particular is very noisy.  We see hawks and bald eagles year round, but it is very difficult to get a photo of either kind of bird.

Yesterday and today a hawk has been in the same area that is approximately 1000 yards feet…. a LONG way away…. in the treeline, at the top of a tree.

yesterday:

And today:

And just for my son, Neil…..

“Run!”

(family joke…)

Thanks to everyone who left me a comment on my last post.  The names suggested for my quilt are really wonderful and fun.  You are all so creative!  And some not!  LOL   In the next day or two I will make a decision.

Tomorrow is a big day…. I am getting dressed and riding into town with Steve to the grocery store.  WOO HOO!  I have not yet gotten cabin fever because I have been too busy sewing, quilting, baking, cooking and bird watching to get that way.  I would just send Steve tomorrow, but I have to go to the pharmacy too, and he can’t do that for me.

Hey, our Christmas tree and lights are still up and still on.  We are still enjoying them!  Maybe I will take the tree down (stuff it in the plastic bag…decorated!)  and let Steve put it back in the closet next month.  He enjoys it as much as I do.

The other 3 big things on my very near future TO DO list are:

  • get MQX entry form stuff ready and sent
  • quarterly taxes
  • do some snow dying

Maybe some snow dyed fabric would be a good prize for the winner of the name my quilt contest?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 10:49:08

    It does not sound like you’ve been wasting too much time bird watching. My goodness!
    Most of our birds have left 😦 we still have Juncos and Chickadeesbut I have not seen much else for a few weeks.

    Tell me about the tree picture, it looks like they are burning?

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:55:46

      Gretchen,
      When Neil was in 6th grade, we were walking down the road when my husband looked off to the woods and yelled “the woods are on fire! Run, Neil, RUN!” Neil took off running down our dirt road, leaving Bobby and me in the dust, laughing our butts off. (It is the sun setting behind the trees that makes the woods glow) A family joke….one of those that you probably had to have been there to appreciate it.
      G

      Reply

  2. Freda Henderson
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:14:10

    Love the pix Gayle.

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:26:33

    I love that last photo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

