Star Borders

I’ve been working on my star borders for my Feathered Star quilt.  And damn if they aren’t too big.  I haven’t done exact measurements yet, but I think I need to put in a 1/2″ finished coping strip.  At first I was NOT happy about that.

But you know what?  I think it NEEDS this strip in here.  What a great design opportunity to make it even better, right?  That’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it!

 

If you double click on the photo, you will see the narrow strip of lighter green on the left side.  That is the fabric I plan to use for the coping strip.

 

Today was another snowy day.  Steve was gone most of the day so I quilted for about 5 hours, then worked on the border shown above.  This afternoon I took all the leftovers out of the fridge and put together dinner.  I was anxious to use my new pie plate and pie bird from Tumbleweed Pottery.  Neil and Yvonne sent it to me for Christmas.  They know I have several other pie birds and thought I would enjoy this.  I DO!

 

Isn’t it cute??

 

It worked perfectly for making a turkey pie with leftovers.  The pie plate is very deep.  Steve will be glad, he loves deep dish apple pie too.

 

Hope you all had a good day, no matter what you did!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 20:34:35

    Great day! Your turkey pot pie made me hungry! Love your new dish … and your star border … and your feathered star! Uh oh … I feel it coming on … ♫♫ can you feel the love tonight …♫♫ Sorry. I got carried away.

    Reply

  2. Janet-Lee Santeusanio
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 23:10:51

    STUNNING quilt Gayle! Oh my goodness! On the thin border…. do you think that light green provides the definition you want? Or, are you looking for just a spacer with a slight shade difference? Curious as to your thinking on this.

    JL

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 00:35:17

      JL…. I first considered hot pink! Haven’t tried that yet, but wanted to see what the light green looked like because it is not repeated anywhere else in the quilt and thought it may help tie back to the middle star. What I like about it is that it is a kind of gentler transition rather than such a stark contrast between borders. It seems to add depth.

      I am open to thoughts and suggestions. Have to do some measuring before I proceed with it and I refuse to buy more fabric for this quilt!

      Reply

  3. quiltfever
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 07:11:39

    When I saw the dark star border earlier in process I thought it would be overpowering, but I love it. Maybe yellow for the extra strip. That pie plate is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!

    Reply

  4. Freda Henderson
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:13:06

    Loving the quilt Gayle…and the little birdie.

    Reply

  5. Gretchen
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 15:13:24

    I must admit I was not a fan of the dark green star border when you began posting this quilt project. But wow, what a change once it is all together. I’m liking it a lot now. So much so that I might continue with mine. I am assuming that nothing in this pattern will be the correct size so I will wait to put on my spacer strips. Thanks for the show!

    Reply

  6. rondabeyer
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 22:29:45

    Gorgeous, is that my Spanish Rose Pattern?????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

