Oh crap!

Have you ever used a quilt pattern that has lots of screw ups in it?  Or wrong measurements?  Or the pattern was just so poorly written that it made very little sense?  Yeah, me too.  I once followed a Pam Bono pattern and found measurements that were wrong.   I emailed her about what I thought was a mistake in her book.  In LESS THAN AN HOUR she emailed me back that I was correct and she apologized profusely.  What great service!  I have lots of her patterns and books, and will continue to buy them because they are well written and it was only once that I ever found a mistake.  Hey, we all mistakes, I know that.

But……

So our little quilt group is doing a mystery quilt.  One of the gals had done this same quilt in her guild and she provided the pattern to any of us who wanted to participate.

Well, let me tell you…this pattern is crap.  There.  I said it.  There are 2 sets of directions…. for the less adventurous and the more adventuresome quilters.  But not 2 COMPLETE sets, only partial sets.  And only for some sections.  And SOME of the directions are for everyone, and some are not.  But it is not clearly distinguished.  And in the end?  There are NO directions at all for the last 2 corner blocks.  Crap.  Total crap pattern.  I wouldn’t give her a nickle for anything else she ever wrote.   I don’t know the gal’s name who wrote the pattern, only her blog title is printed on the pattern.

Whew!  I feel better.  Got that out of my system.

So I got the center put together.  Got the pieced border put on, making up my own blocks to finish the corners.  Still have 2 more borders to go.  Got that much done in the last 2 days.  Go in the studio this morning to admire my work….. and OH CRAP!!

 

It doesn’t pay to work on something when I am pissed off.  It is counter-productive.   So maybe I will wait till Sunday’s Steelers game to rip that bottom row out, flip it, and sew it back in the right way.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. G
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 17:47:23

    Geez I couldnt agree more! I am custom quilting a wall hanging for peanuts as a store sample and seriously pissed off about it! I mean I know a deals a deal, but when its on and on its mind boggling! ( and NOT fun)

    Reply

  2. LisaT
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:04:24

    Ack! I hate it when that happens! Looks nice otherwise though ;-)

    Reply

  3. Shelley
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:09:57

    But it’s so cute!! I do agree, tho, that it is frustrating. At least you have lots of experience to draw from to know when there is a problem. Can you imagine some poor beginner quilter trying to get through it?? Yikes!

    Reply

  4. Debby
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 18:13:30

    I agree with putting off the un-stitching for a while, but I feel that the Steelers game might deserve your full attention. I’m going to be cheering full-volume for the entire game, especially since I now live in Jets country. I hope you are pleased with the outcome of the quilt, and the outcome of the Steelers game.

    Reply

  5. quiltfever
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 07:20:00

    I got a giggle out of the photo but I know–not so funny when it happened. At least it’s only some long seams to re-do instead of lots of little pieces. Some deep breathing first…

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 10:44:50

      This is EXACTLY what went through my head. I had stared at this stupid quilt for 2 days on the wall before I saw the mistake. Then it was kind of funny. And I was happy that it is relatively easy ripping.

      Reply

  6. shirley bruner
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 10:22:35

    i am feeling your pain. give this quilt some ugly snarky name to ‘celebrate’ the un-instructions. LOL

    Reply

  7. cori
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 13:15:16

    Well since Ilive in upstate NY, quess who I am for. Nope do not like either team GO PACKERS. I accidentally found you site. I have been mad and sew something wrong. Which makes you madder.

    Reply

  8. Bethany
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 14:35:23

    I love Pam’s designs as well and she’s so happy to help if you get lost.

    Despite the bottom row mistake, the quilt is gorgeous. At least you didn’t start quilting it and then find realize you’d flipped the row. Did that once. Now I check everything before starting to baste and quilt.

    Good luck!

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 19:46:00

      You are so right Bethany, I have done that before. In fact, it was a wedding gift for my brother. I had to unload the quilt, fix the mistake and reload to continue quilting.!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

