Some crap you can fix, some you can’t

I fixed my mistake on the “Oh Crap” quilt.  This one is done until I get around to quilting it.  I have no idea who would want this one.  I will stick it in the cabinet until someone needs a quilt.

 

Steve’s business has been total crap this month.  We REALLY need to get more quilts in for him to quilt.  It hasn’t been this slow in years.   You can contact him through our website for Mazon’s Quilting.  I wish I could fix the economy.  (I was dreaming for a minute I guess)

It has been SO cold this week, more snow and wind, with sub-zero temps.  Of course we can’t fix the weather, so  Steve has cut more of this “booger” wood to help keep us warm.  It is elm, a VERY hard wood with a grain that is VERY hard to split.  This one was done with his brother’s log splitter and it kept getting stuck.  (thus, booger wood)  This is only 1/8 of the log, about 6 feet up from the butt.  The tree was about 150 yrs old. This kind of wood is great for burning all night.

 

And there are other things you can’t fix too.  My twin brother (bet some of you didn’t know I was a twin, huh?) was just diagnosed with cancer this week.  He has cancer in his lymph nodes, both lungs and in his liver.  It looks bleak.

Other family members that died of cancer are my Dad (age 40), sister Diana (age 51) and brother Irv (age 57).  My brother Gary (and I) are 57.  Did I say it looks bleak?

So…. for those that would like to, please say a prayer or two for my brother Gary, his wife Shelly, and his children: Adam, Mark, Jeff, Grant, Jackson and Taylor.  They range in age from mid 20’s (not sure how old Adam is, maybe 27 or so) down to age 5. Since I lost my Dad at age 7, my heart just aches for Taylor.

It is no secret that Gary and I are not close and never have been.  But my sister and brother, and many of my nieces and nephews ARE close and are really struggling with Gary’s illness…. so if you could say a prayer or send good vibes for them too, that would be great.

To end on a happy note…. I got new shoes that fit and are comfy.   This is huge good news for me, after breaking my foot 2 yrs. ago!  I hope the shoes help my back too.  I have been fighting back spasms for the last 10 days and finally am more comfortable today.

Next time, I hope I have more cheerful things to share!

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Freda Henderson
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 16:12:42

    I’m so sorry about your brother Gayle. Perhaps the oh crap quilt would bring him some comfort. I have to say that is the weirdest log I have ever seen.

    Reply

  2. myolivebranch
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 16:12:51

    i’m so sorry about what your brother and his family are going through.

    someone will feel very blessed to receive your quilt someday!

    your fire looks warm and toasty!

    Reply

  3. BeckyP
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 20:35:45

    I like how your quilt top turned out!!! I am so sorry about your brother!! I’ll keep all of your family in my prayers!!

    Reply

  4. Gretchen
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 20:50:42

    Thank you for helping me put things into prospective. I’m having what seemed like a bad evening. Crap. I am sorry to hear about your brothers illness. Close or not, it is scary. Sorry.

    Reply

  5. quiltfever
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 20:54:20

    I have been on the cancer journey with some close friends and family members the last few years. You and all your family are in my prayers.

    Reply

  6. sammi
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 23:06:01

    Thinking of you … and especially yours! I am so sorry.

    Reply

  7. Tammie
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 01:28:43

    I am so sorry to hear about your brother. I will say a prayer for your family. Close or not, it must be hard. Love the quit …and the fire looks so inviting.

    Reply

  8. shirley bruner
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 10:15:32

    we took some trees down this last summer and one of them looks like your booger wood. i forget which kind of tree it was but i was told it splits like that because the tree grows in a spiral rather than straight and the wood would never split clean. but it burns just fine. jim was just cussing our log splitter for days while he split it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

