Feathered Star done

I finished piecing my feathered star.  I did the borders differently than Ronda’s Spanish Rose pattern called for.  Instead, I used the template in the book Fans and Flutterbys.  I have used it before successfully, so didn’t want to re-invent the wheel.  My quilt, before the last border was not close enough to the measurement it said it should be to feel comfortable doing it Ronda’s way.  Hey….. there is always more than one way to do something!

As much as I like this quilt, I must say…. I am tired of looking at it and ready to hang it in the cabinet for quilting later.

And for fun, go see Gretchen’s blog for another version of this same quilt.  Very different, but also pretty.

I also got done with the applique on Cindy’s quilt for our round robin.  It isn’t perfect… which is why she will know that I did it!  This week, done is better than perfect.

 

My next project?  I don’t know for sure.  Something easy and scrappy I think.  I need to use my GO! cutter on some blue and yellow fat quarters that are singing to me.  Just have to decide on a pattern.

Amaryllis watch:

2 days ago:

And the taller one this morning:

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 22:18:24

    Love the quilt … and the amaryllis! Don’t ya just love to watch them? Unlike watching grass grow …..

    Reply

  2. quiltfever
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 07:09:41

    The wavy border is perfect. Really ties the whole thing together. Great job!

    Reply

  3. KK
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 09:02:00

    Awesome!!!

    Reply

  4. threadtales
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 09:28:52

    Really, really fabulous, Gayle…I would love to have THAT on my machine!!

    Reply

  5. Vicki W
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 22:26:16

    The quilt is beautiful!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

