You can’t fix stupid

“You can’t fix stupid.  Unfortunately, stupid doesn’t go on vacation either.”  (one of Steve’s favorite sayings that most often applies to his Mom’s boyfriend.  I refer to him as Dickhead)

So this afternoon, Steve’s Mom called.  “There’s a fire in the garage, come quick!”  Steve pulled on boots and coat and raced out the door and drove off.  I called 911 because I had no idea if his Mom had done that.  (later I found out she had…. after she called Steve).  I closed up the fireplace, turned stuff off, pulled on clothes, boots & coat, grabbed my camera and cane and started walking up the road.

Steve’s niece lives next door to us, on the other side of our front pasture.   And Mom lives next to them.  So it is only 2 driveways up…. or about a 5 acres away.

This is what I saw when I got to the driveway:

Yes… that is his grand niece standing so close.  She told me later….”I was standing right there when the tractor exploded!” (you can’t fix stupid)

 

 

In the picture above, you can see the first fireman on the scene (he arrived before I did, but after Steve did) and Steve.  Mom’s house, their car and truck are on the right.  The van on the left is right behind the garage that is on fire.  Dickhead wanted to pull that van out with a chain. (you can’t fix stupid)  Steve wouldn’t let him, said it was too dangerous.

In the picture above, you can see niece’s garage right next to Dickhead’s garage that is on fire.  Niece’s husband does lots of car painting.  I was waiting for it to blow.  And on very left edge of photo is their house… a trailer.

 

A welcome sight.

 

Running more hose down the driveway to the tankers in the road.  (For you city slickers reading this… No fire hydrants in the country)

 

Truck above is first of 5 on the road.. all full of water!

All volunteers.  All well trained.  All are appreciated!

The photo above and the one below were both taken from my driveway again.  5 trucks along our pasture fence that is along the road.    And another one out at the end of the road to stop traffic from coming down our road.

 

So….. the reason for the fire?  Dickhead was working on a tractor in the garage.  With the propane heater going.  Knocked over the gas tank that he had taken off of the tractor that had gas in it.  And the rest is history.  He is really lucky he is alive.  And all he can do is whine about losing his stuff.

You can’t fix stupid.

The Commander on the scene asked him if he had insurance.  no.  (You can’t fix stupid)  The saddest part of that is that Volunteer Fire Departments recoup some of their money through homeowner’s insurance.  So that won’t happen in this instance.

THANK YOU to all the firemen who responded.  Sandy Lake, Stoneboro, Sheakleyville, and Jackson Center VFD’s…. a huge thank you to you all!

 

On a personal note… I was feeling a little bit of my family roots this afternoon, shooting pictures of a fire.  My Dad started the Chicago Fire Department’s Photo Division.  I think he would have smiled at the thought of me grabbing my camera before going out the door!

 

 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammie R
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 19:28:49

    WOW is ALL I can say! I’m glad no one was hurt. What great photos, but OMG! That is scary stuff!

    Reply

  2. Sally Bramald
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 19:53:03

    My goodness there should be a prize for the most exciting blog post this year. I bet you can do without this sort of excitement.
    What an idiot. You might not be able to fix stupid but can you drive him out of town. He’s dangerous.

    Reply

  3. Dan Lester
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 20:58:11

    Right on stupidty. Or, as I put it, “common sense isn’t so common any more”. Duuuuuuuhhhhhhhhh.

    Dad is proud of his baby girl. I’m sure of it. Good work, little sister.

    Reply

  4. Bethany
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 21:03:26

    I’m so sorry for laughing. I couldn’t help myself. I am glad everything worked out for everyone.

    Reply

  5. kayp
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 21:16:31

    i’m glad everyone is ok. firefighters are awesome.

    Reply

  6. Becky Purcell
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 21:17:59

    Wow!! Between your flu fire and this you guys have had an exciting winter!! No insurance? WOW!! I am just glad noting else was damaged and all people are safe!! No…you can’t fix stupid..common sense is just lost on some folks!! Good picture taking too. You always do a wonderful job. I’ll bet the Fire Department would love to have copies of these!! Take care of yourself after all this excitement!!

    Reply

  7. Yvonne
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 21:20:16

    Glad no one was hurt. I always say I can’t be responsible for DNA of the students in my classroom. Some of them, have it, some of them don’t.

    Reply

  8. Tammy Murphy
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 22:52:05

    Wow Gayle, can’t beat that excitement for the day!
    Very glad nobody was hurt!

    Reply

  9. Jorja
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 02:24:26

    OK, propane heater, open gas can, no insurance …. classic “you might be a redneck if ….” Dickhead is damned lucky he still HAS his dick & his head, sheeese.

    And ditto everything re: rural volunteer firefighters – ours are awesome too.

    Reply

  10. Amanda
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 16:57:52

    I didn’t make it to this call but my dad’s in some of the pics =] Glad everybody was ok. Had to run back up because someone left a pike pole there…lol.

    We are volunteers because we want to be. We want to help others and don’t feel we need to be paid for it. (although donations to the station would be nice =P) But we don’t expect it. But please support your local fire depts. You may be the next one they save (or your property). =D

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 22:52:38

      Thanks for stopping by my blog, Amanda. I support ($$) the local FD at least once a year, sometimes more often. We really do appreciate all you do.

      Gayle

      Reply

  11. taylor johnson FF with Jackson center
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 21:42:04

    You are welcome and we barley get a thank you like this so this means a lot

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 22:53:58

      Taylor, thanks for taking the time to comment. I know you don’t get thanked enough. I have always thought that cops and firemen should get paid pro athlete salaries.

      Gayle

      Reply

  12. Paul Wright
    May 12, 2011 @ 14:37:26

    I thing what you should start doing to attract more people is start going to more fires and more wrecks with a lot of fire departments in the area, such as Stoneboro and Sandylake.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      May 12, 2011 @ 16:13:55

      Paul,
      Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I am not sure what you mean…. you think *I* should start going to more fires and wrecks in the area that our local depts respond to? They already have a photographer that does just that. Are you saying they need more and better publicity to get better recognition or more people to volunteer?
      Gayle

      Reply

      • Paul
        May 15, 2011 @ 19:43:50

        No, I know some people that likes to look at picts of firefighting and stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

