A quilt for our own bed

Like the cobbler’s children who have no shoes, we have had no decent quilt on our bed.   Until now.

This quilt started as a round robin.  I did the middle (the bird in the branches) and then it got shipped off to the next person for the next border around it.  It went to a total of  4 other people, then came back to me.  When I go it, it looked like this:

I loved it so much, I decided to make it big enough for our bed.  I tried to imitate some of the borders that were done in the round robin.  This quilt ended up to be 124″ long and 128″ wide.  I had to put it on Steve’s machine to quilt it, because I only have a 12 foot table, he has a 14 foot table on his machine.  And since it was so big, I did not do custom quilting.  The pantograph on it is called Wandering Daisies.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana W
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 15:15:08

    I hear ya sister. I don’t have a (made by me) quilt on our bed either and it’s high time I changed that! I plan to by next year for sure. Your quilt is lovely. So now I know you painted your room to match your new quilt..GOOD PLANNING!

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jun 15, 2011 @ 21:21:15

      Newsflash: I did not paint the room to match the quilt. But others have thought that too.
      I painted the room that color because we both like that color. We got gray carpet because we thought it would go ok with the paint and would be neutral enough for the rest of our lives and to go with other colors. I did the quilt when I got my round robin back because it just looked good in that room and decided then. I really didnt plan it that way.

      Reply

  2. Judy
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 15:31:12

    Love it, love it, love it….LOVE IT! But then I’ve told you that already! ;>)

    Reply

  3. Freda Henderson
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 16:16:50

    The quilt is gorgeous Gayle. I have a quilt on our bed that I made in 1998. Maybe I need to make a new one.

    Reply

  4. Tammie
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 16:21:55

    Oh, it’s beautiful! I LOVE the colors AND the piecing and applique! IT”S GORGEOUS!

    Reply

  5. Gretchen
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 18:33:31

    Gayle,
    That is a beautiful quilt. How nice for you to have it on your bed to enjoy.

    Reply

  6. Desley
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 19:25:18

    Beautiful quilt – and it sure is big!

    Reply

  7. sammi
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 20:18:15

    Beautiful! I love every section of it. It is so unique. I love your new bedroom, too! The color is perfect. The drapes seem to combine the wall color and the carpet color. But that gorgeous quilt is certainly the focal point.

    Reply

  8. Mary R
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 21:21:34

    I thought I was the last person on earth to use the cobbler’s children phrase. But it is sad but true that most quilters don’t have a quilt on their own bed. At least in me experience.

    Your round robin gone around again is wonderful. You should be very proud.

    Reply

  9. quiltfever
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 06:10:47

    Love the quilt, and glad to see your post. Hope you are doing well.

    Reply

  10. shirley bruner
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 09:23:48

    hey Gayle….that quilt looks spectacular in your room. just the right thing. i love round robin quilts…they usually come back as a pleasant surprise. that one sure did. glad to see your post….i check every day to see what’s going on with you. i miss your regular postings. stay cool…stay well….stay happy.

    Reply

  11. Vicki W
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 11:12:53

    It’s beautiful! I was just thinking of yo yesterday, It’s time for Chris to go pick blackberries and raspberries. He’s going to the place near where your son lives.

    Reply

  12. ivoryspring
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 21:25:15

    Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

