Playing with Texture Magic

I bought some Texture Magic at MQX in April.  I finally got around to trying it a couple of weeks ago.

Texture Magic is a product sold by Superior Threads.  It looks and feels like lining fabrics.  After you quilt it, you steam it to make it shrink 30% in each direction.  The shrinkage creates more texture.

I used batting between the Texture Magic and cotton fabric, but the directions say you can do it with no batting.  I will  try that another time.  I  need to play and experiment more to figure out if I want the quilting lines to be closer or not.  I also want to try straight lines and a grid.   It will depend on the project as to what effect I am after.

So this is a little tutorial on what I did.

I basted it on the top of batting and backing on my longarm.  You can make a similar sandwich (with or without batting) and baste or pin together.

TM1

Then I quilted it on my longarm.  You can use a sewing machine, longarm or even by hand.  The key is to have fairly dense quilting to get more texture.

TM2

Here is the other side:

TM3

Then I steamed it.  You steam it on the Texture Magic side.  I used my 35 year old Steamstress that still works well.  I love that thing!  I doubt you are lucky enough to have an old Steamstress, so use a regular iron that steams well.

TM4

You can literally see it shrink before you eyes.  (hmm, maybe I should wrap my body in it and steam away the pounds)

Here it is all steamed and shrunk:

TM5

And the fabric side:

TM6

See the Magic???

I can see lots of possibilities for this product.  Purses, tote bags, or vests.  I dont ever make those kinds of things, so I will use some on a pillow for my first project.

Let me know what you use Texture Magic for.  And please share any tips along the way.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay Sorensen
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 16:21:59

    Fun to see the Steamstress.
    I have 2 in a drawer!

    Reply

  2. Lynn Douglass
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 18:43:18

    Very cool, Gayle! I knew you’d be playing with some! I think I’m going to have to order some of it. Play time!

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 21:38:46

    Oh, that’s very cool!

    Reply

  4. Nedra- Cactus Needle
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 12:38:05

    Hi Gayle,
    Thank you for the great tutorial on Texture Magic. I work for Superior Threads and have been showing TM to quilt shops.
    I am also getting ready to launch a blog for Superior Threads just to highlight Texture Magic. Can I add your post? It should be up and running within the next few weeks, and I’m gathering ideas.
    You can reach me at nedra@superiorthreads.com
    I’d love to see any future projects also.
    Thanks again!

    Nedra

    Reply

  5. Alessandra
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 10:37:15

    Great!!! cool!!! hugs

    Reply

  6. Gregg
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 22:56:04

    Can the Texture magic be Glued on to fabric? and with what kind of a Glue that will be Permanent, and not lose hold after washing?

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 25, 2010 @ 23:14:12

      Gregg,
      I have no idea. By stitching it to the fabric first, then shrinking it… that is what creates the texture. If not stitched I think it would probably just shrink to a smaller size and be flat, although I have not tried that.
      If you try to glue it, let me know what happens, ok?

      You could also email the company (Superior Threads) and ask them.

      Gayle

      Reply

  7. Tara
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 20:33:30

    I saw someone use it to make a cupcake top on a shirt, that’s what made me Google it. It was so cute! Here it is: http://midwest-chic.blogspot.com/2010/01/cupcakes-anyone.html

    Reply

  8. janet
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 21:37:17

    so where did you all find any of it? I saw it on TV recently but cannot find it!

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 11:51:02

    I plan to make some christmas runners and cuffs for christmas stocking, Can this be washed and dried and keep its shape???

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Oct 15, 2011 @ 13:06:27

      Linda,
      Great question! If you quilt through your fabric and a layer of texture magic, then steam it, yes, it will keep it’s shape. I think the cuffs on stockings will be perfect for this!

      Reply

  10. Marie Abrahamse
    May 27, 2013 @ 11:13:22

    Good afternoon,
    I live in South Africa and we cannot get texture magic here. How can I go about to buy some of this magic material. I would really appreciate if you can assist. Marie Abrahamse

    Reply

  11. Mary Ann McDermott
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 21:10:53

    I used it to make an evening bag for my son’s wedding and am making one for the bride. Love the effect it gives. Also, I live with another son and daughter-in-law and we are moving and will have a sewing room. Can’t wait to find my Steamstress that has been in storage for 3 years! A Rowenta gets really heavy.

    Reply

  12. Lyric Joy
    Jan 02, 2016 @ 14:30:22

    Interesting product; can’t wait to try it.

    Reply

Leave a comment