Laying to rest

As I watch Michael Jackson’s memorial service, I can’t help but wonder why I am emotional about this service.  Why would I care?  Why did I care so much during Princess Diana’s funeral?  Or Ronald Reagan’s?  I never even met these people.

And it struck me:

we watch and think of those funerals we have been to before.  think of those we have loved and lost

see the symbols of life and death

feel what each symbol and song invokes in us

sing and dance to what moves us

mourn for what was ours and is no longer

or at least, is no longer ours in the same way

We think of our own mortality.

how long do I have left?  I have so much left to do….

who will mourn me?  will someone care?

will they know I loved them too?

Whether you loved his music or not, whether you enjoyed watching him or not, he changed our world as we know it.  He was an American icon…. a WORLD icon.  A part of our collective experience.

Perhaps what I loved most about MJ was his creativity.  His willingness to be himself, do things his way, forge his own path.

His death reminds me that I must use my own creative talents while I am able…continue to use what gifts God has given ME to impact my own little piece of this world.

And a little directive to my family and those that are involved in my life…. take the quilts and use them.  display them.  love them.  share them.  the rest the stuff?  it is just stuff.  the quilts were created with my heart and soul.

Now, I better get busy and create some more…..

PS to Neil and Steve:  gold coffin not necessary.  pine box just fine.  maple or oak would be extra nice.