How to make peanut butter cookies

Steve had to run lots of errands today, including several for me.  When it is below 15*F I don’t breathe well outside, so he was the errand man in the zero weather.

I decided I would surprise him with…

 

…peanut butter cookies.  I started with this recipe.  Checked to be sure I had all the ingredients.  Oh good, enough to make a double batch!  I put the butter in the microwave to soften.  Put the peanut butter and sugars into my mixing bowl and got to mixing with my super duper handy dandy kitchen aid mixer that I love so much.  Mmmmmm smells good already.   Can you smell it?  Added the eggs and mixed some more.  Then the flour and other ingredients.  Mixed some more.  It should be ready to put onto cookie trays.

Or not.  Wow.  It looked like gritty crumbly nasty pie dough with dirt mixed in.  What the hell?  Tried to make balls… it won’t hold together in fashion.  I have no idea what to do.

So I call my friend Mary Jane, who bakes alot of cookies.  She says to add oil.  Maybe another egg if I think it needs it.  Ok…..

I add oil.  More oil.  An egg.  More oil.  Not hanging together.  Add some milk.  More oil.  More milk.  FINALLY I can smoosh a ball together that mostly holds in a ball.   This is the weirdest experience of cookie baking I have ever had.

Baked the cookies.  All 8 dozen.  Steve thinks they are great!  Whew!  I feel successful!!  (I don’t eat PB cookies, so will have to take his word for it that they are great)

I cleaned up the kitchen, got the cookies bagged for the freezer and sat down to do some other things.  Several hours later I walk in the kitchen and notice the microwave says “Food is cooked”.  huh?  I don’t remember putting a cup of coffee in to reheat.  I know Steve didn’t because he was gone and hadn’t even been in the kitchen.  I open the microwave….

 

 

…yep… that softened butter ready to put in my cookies.

 

Oy.  Not feeling so successful.

We both laughed so hard that we cried!

Steve thinks they must be a diet version since they don’t have butter in them.  I am just glad they are edible and he is enjoying them.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 20:04:48

    I once left the sugar out of some cookies. They turned really thin and crispy and, of course, tasted like cardboard.

    Reply

  2. Freda Henderson
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 20:37:08

    Well we had a snow day today and I made cinnamon rolls. I haven’t made cinnamon rolls in years but they sure were good.

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 21:22:34

    LOL! Yup.

    Reply

  4. BeckyP
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 03:01:11

    been there done that too!!! Strangely enough it was peanut butter cookies!!! Too funny!!

    Reply

  5. quiltfever
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 08:29:28

    I so enjoyed this funny story. I am also finding I get more and more amusing with each passing year.

    Reply

  6. biz319
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 12:13:03

    that is so funny, and absolutely something I would do! Glad they still turned out! 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment