Monday UFO Report

I have joined some of the other quilters on MQResource to start whittling down our quilting UFO (unfinished)  projects.  Why?

This is why.  The hangers are full of quilts of my own that need to be quilted.  To the right of that is a huge box, filled with 2 gal. ziplocks with a project in it.  Some are almost finished.  Some barely started.  And a few kits.  The top shelf?  2 buckets on left are 2.5″ strips.  Big bucket on right?  full of more UFO’s in ziplocks.

UGH.  See why I joined?  I am not counting.  I do not see the point.  It would only make you feel much better about yourself, and worse about/for me.

So….. I started Jan 1 with that resolution mantra of Less is MORE.  Right.  Thinking I could start weeding out my house of all the crap I dont need or want.

and of course on Jan 1 I started an online Mystery quilt.  Thus, giving me yet another UFO, right??  sick sick sick.  I get it.

So here is what I have done since then….

I added the 2 borders (narrow red, then the wider focal print) to my OBW (One Block Wonder) quilt.   It is now hanging up ready to be quilted.  Yeah….. out of the UFO category to the UQ (unquilted) category.  After it is quilted, it will go to the UB (unbound) category.

and….

I added turquoise/brown/turquoise and wide brown borders on the sides, and a narrower brown border to top and bottom of the French Braid quilt.  This one will be for our king size bed when we move our bedroom downstairs some year.

This quilt has also moved to the UQ lineup.

Yay me!  I made progress.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana W
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 20:54:00

    My closet looks kinda like yours too. harumph….
    I absolutely love that ribbon quilt. Where can I find that pattern?

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 11, 2010 @ 21:00:22

      Diana, it is a French Braid quilt….. name of book is something with that in the title. Bought it on Amazon, although it is available lots of places.

      Reply

  2. Judy W
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 20:54:14

    Love that French Braid quilt!

    Reply

  3. Kim S
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 21:41:13

    Both quilt tops look great…. I’m not going to show any pix of my closets! Nope, you can’t make me!

    Reply

  4. sammi
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 21:46:13

    Congratulations !! 99 ziplocs of unfinished crap, 99 ziplocs of crap; you take one down, get it bound, 98 ziplocs of unfinished crap!

    Reply

  5. Jennifer Pielow
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 00:00:32

    You insprired me to get out the french braid quilt book and make the quilt I meant too when I bought it years ago…
    What is the Mystery Quilt you are on?
    We WILL make great progress on our UFO’s!

    Reply

  6. myolivebranch
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 00:33:16

    i love it! and i’ve gotten exactly NUTIN’ done. i’m a slug.

    Reply

  7. Lynn Douglass
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 04:08:56

    I’m with you, Gayle! I’m not counting, just getting it on with the less is more mantra! Now Sammi has gotten a song going in my brain. ARGH!

    p.s. Both quilts are very cool! That french braid would fit my bed. I’m just sayin….. 😉

    Reply

  8. freda1951
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 10:51:44

    I love both the quilts Gayle but the colors in your french braid quilt are gorgeous.

    Reply

  9. goldenneedle
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 17:21:32

    Wow…the French braid quilt is wonderful…..my kind of colors (it would look terrific in my master bedroom that is already those colors). Good thing about the counting……it goes in the catagory of “if you have to ask…..you don’t want to know”….

    Karen

    Reply

  10. BeckyP
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 19:05:30

    You give me inspiration!!! I have so many UFO’s!!! I don’t dare count. Now that the LQS has closed maybe I will get to them…maybe???? I still have the project to finishe from the class you taught here!!! How many years ago was that? I love the French Braid quilt! I have always wanted to make one…maybe that is one of my UFO’s…I don’t remember now! LOL..good for you on making progress!! And.. Sammi..love the song!

    Reply

Leave a comment